SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question Should I charge 4 intial web mockups?

This is my first post and it is directed toward those who already have a successful (50k+) web design/development company - I thank you in advance for all replies.

In short, I am an experienced developer but still learning good development business technique.

I usually offer qualified leads 1 or 2 PSD mockup designs in order to secure their business. I spend on avg. 100+ to prepare these designs. This is something I am happy to do in order to secure a good client project. My issue presents itself when the client receives the designs and then I never hear from them again . I am not interested nor do I have the resources to provide free designs for every lead that just thinks they are prepared to hire a developer to build their site.

My fear has been losing potential clients if I were to demand an upfront retainer. If I should be charging for these mockups -how much is reasonable.

Please share your experience and abuse prevention tips .

SitePoint Zealot
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You say you spend x on preparing these designs? Do you mean you are subcontracting the design work or do you do the designs yourself?

In my experience, clients who are asking you to do work for free, are not good clients. I have absolutely no interest in working with someone who doesn't value my time and work as much as their own.

Perhaps you need to work on your portfolio? I have a portfolio online. This is usually enough for clients to decide if the have the confidence to hire me as a designer, and so far it has been enough.

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for the reply exodo...I have a design team (myself included) that I pay to create the mockups.