SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

script working inside of document, but not externally

I have to scripts on this page: connectingauthors.com (the photo scroller and quote ticker)
    If I try to the quote ticker outside the page it doesn't work.
    I tried both putting the whole script in 1 file (javascript.js), and I tried splitting the head and body into 2 files like below: (I took out most quotes for shortening)
    I am new at Javascript, and any help would be appreciated.
    Code:
    <head>
    .....stuff here....
     <SCRIPT LANGUAGE="JavaScript" SRC="includes/javascript.js"> </SCRIPT>
    </head>
    <body>
    <SCRIPT LANGUAGE="JavaScript" SRC="http://www.connectingauthors.com/includes/quote_ticker.js"> </SCRIPT>
    Javascript.js:
    Code:
    <script type="text/javascript">

//                                    **************QUOTE TICKER*************
    var tickercontent=new Array()
    tickercontent[0]='<em>\"Author\'s day was wonderful.  Jan is an amazing guy!  So warm and down-to-earth!</em>  -Kate Chassman, parent at San Ramon in Novato, CA about Jan Adkins\"'
    tickercontent[1]='<em>\"We really loved Gianna\'s visit on Monday!  About 70 kids at Cureton got to enjoy a great presentation, learn to draw animals, make an alphabet book, and play alphabet books.  We had so much fun!  Thank you for making this possible.\"</em> -Lisa Zhang'
    tickercontent[2]='<em> \"Thank you so much for bringing them to our school, we loved it!\" </em> -Erika Pollard, 2nd grade teacher'
    tickercontent[3]='<em> \"Elmwood will always welcome your authors with open arms and eager smiles. Thank you again. \" </em> -Sandra Mulvihill'