SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    27
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Switching domain to subdirectory of another?

    I am in a unique situation.

    I used to develop a domain (domain A) up from the ground and got good results in Google, (first few pages) out of many millions of results....

    But, I've lost the fire to keep pushing it. It's a sub niche of a much broader niche which I have decided to venture into now (domain B)

    This broad niche is even MORE competitive. But, I have the fire, passion, and knowledge for this. This is something I've experience of, for years.

    So, can I take all the content on domain A, place it on domain B site, and point domain A (301) to a subdirectory of domain B? As in:

    http://domain-B.com/domain-A/

    Both domain A and domain B have a major simillar keyword, which is why I don't think it's a good idea to keep them separate. But both are closely related, the only difference is the scale of the niche.

    Example....Cars and Toyota cars ....or Cats....and Persian cats....

    This is the difference between both domains...except one is much broader and therefore more fun to indulge in, never mind the competition.

    Is my idea sound, SEO wise? All the backlinks for domain A will become redundant?

    Basically, I'm starting anew in a much broader niche.

  2. #2
    He's No Good To Me Dead silver trophybronze trophy stymiee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Slave I
    Posts
    23,424
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    This basically answers your question. The only difference is you need to point to a subdirectory instead of a root directory:

    From the Search Engine Optimization FAQ:

    I just changed my domain name. How can I switch without losing my rankings?

    You'll need to do a 301 redirect from the old domain to the new domain. Fortunately this is not difficult to do. You'll need to add the following lines of code to a file called .htaccess and place it in the root directory of the old domain:
    Code:
    RewriteEngine On
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^(www\.)?old-domain\.com$ [NC]
    RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://www.new-domain.com/$1 [R=301,L]

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    27
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yeah, Stymiee, basically that, except, I want to place its contents in the subdirectory of another domain.

    I wonder if Google will go bonkers at my changes

    By the way, this niche is really competitive. *sweat*

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast Chapichupapa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    63
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yes its possible to do that!

  5. #5
    He's No Good To Me Dead silver trophybronze trophy stymiee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Slave I
    Posts
    23,424
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Datalife View Post
    Yeah, Stymiee, basically that, except, I want to place its contents in the subdirectory of another domain.

    I wonder if Google will go bonkers at my changes

    By the way, this niche is really competitive. *sweat*
    And the code I gave you is a huge headstart on doing that. You probably only need to change one part of one line for it to work


    RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://www.new-domain.com/new-directory/$1 [R=301,L]

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    India
    Posts
    52
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i agree with stymee

  7. #7
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    27
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm wondering if it's a good idea to just copy all the articles from the old site onto a text editor like Word, and then just paste them onto my new site again.

    This new site is a blog, just like the old one.....and the same articles will probably get pinged again at the same blog directories.

    What are the usual best practices to move content? Is it simply copying wholesale 20 articles and pasting them and then publishing them on the same day? Is there a better way to do this?

  8. #8
    He's No Good To Me Dead silver trophybronze trophy stymiee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Slave I
    Posts
    23,424
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Just copy the info from the database. That's the quickest and easiest way.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •