SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Pragmatic Programmer halfasleeps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Altoona, PA. USA
    Posts
    1,945
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    XP and Vista on same machine?

    a long time ago i had a computer that when I booted it would as me to load either xp or linux suse 9, ...I didnt set it up though a friend of mine did.

    I now have a computer with a single 500gb hard drive with 2 partitions a 150gb partition for my OS (vista) and a 350 gb partition for my files I was thinking about shrinking my 350 gb partition to about 300 and using the other 50 gb to instal xp (so I can run some old software that wont run on vista properly). When I boot, I want it to ask me to load either vista or xp, then whenever I am in vista or xp either way I still see my 300gb files partition so I can easily share files from os to os.

    I am not sure how to do this, I think maybe all I have to do is open a disk manager shrink my 350 partition to 300 gb then boot with my XP disc and instal xp on the 50gb space. Is that all I have to do? I am scared afterwards it will just boot xp since it is the last os I installed? will my machine automatically ask me weather to boot either XP or vista afterwards or is there something I have to setup to be able to pick which OS to load everytime I boot?


    Thanks!
    Altoona Design
    Freelance Flex developer for hire.
    ActionScript Programmer with 8 Years Experience.

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard chris_fuel's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Ventura, CA
    Posts
    2,750
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The best guess I can recommend is to use something like Partition Magic to partition up your drives, then use the boot magic utility inside to do the boots between vista and XP. Should also have a way to set the default boot as well.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot internetSurfer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    140
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can use this tool for partition management or the one in the tutorial.
    You will have to burn the .iso and boot from CD/DVD drive.
    It has many utilities and will assist in partioning the HD.

    Hiren's BootCD 9.4
    http://www.middown.com/modules.php?n...rticle&sid=595

    Then you can use this tutorial to install XP.

    How to dual boot Vista and XP (with Vista installed first)
    http://apcmag.com/5485/dualbooting_vista_and_xp

    How to dual boot Vista and XP (with XP installed first)
    http://apcmag.com/5023/dual_booting_xp_with_vista
    Last edited by internetSurfer; Mar 1, 2008 at 20:50.

  4. #4
    Pragmatic Programmer halfasleeps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Altoona, PA. USA
    Posts
    1,945
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I was just looking into my disk-management and I already have 26gb of unallocated space, so should I just instal XP on the 26gb space and then start this tuttorial http://apcmag.com/5485/dualbooting_vista_and_xp at "Restoring Vista and dual booting"??

    Thanks.
    Altoona Design
    Freelance Flex developer for hire.
    ActionScript Programmer with 8 Years Experience.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member kotsengkuba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm not sure with desktops PCs if this is possible because for most notebook PCs, you have to switch BIOS versions if you want either XP or Vista
    BLOG ALMIGHTY, ruler of the cyberworld.
    He who reads me reads the one who wrote me.
    For man does not read on blogs alone.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy
    wwb_99's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    10,638
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Not sure what you are talking about--we've got alot of identical hardware running XP or Vista depending on instance with zero bios tweaking.

    If your hardware has the umph (if you are running vista, it probably does), best bet is to run MS Virtual PC or VMWare and just host an XP Virtual Machine. It's alot less trouble than dual booting while keeping the same capabilities.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Member kotsengkuba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I work in a notebook manufacturing company and from our experience, we need to create a different BIOS for Vista and XP platforms because failure to do some will cause some hardware not working properly. Anyway, I'm not sure if this also apply with desktop PCs.
    BLOG ALMIGHTY, ruler of the cyberworld.
    He who reads me reads the one who wrote me.
    For man does not read on blogs alone.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy
    wwb_99's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    10,638
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Let me know which one so I can avoid buying them . . .

  9. #9
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    hi

    I unsuccessfully tried to dual boot with my HP Pavillion Notebook which came with pre-installed Vista Ultimate.

    I desparately needed to have XP on my machine as I wanted to connect to my work via VPN.

    Nothing worked ... then came trying this with MS Virtual PC 2007... gave me exacly what I was looking for. I can now run Visa as the Host OS and XP as Guest OS. Enjoying best of both worlds..
    MS Virtial PC 2007 is highly recommended if you need both OS running in the same machine...

  10. #10
    Pragmatic Programmer halfasleeps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Altoona, PA. USA
    Posts
    1,945
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ok so I booted from my XP disc and when it came time to select where to install XP it only listed one space:

    C: [unkown partition] 131072 MB


    which doesnt make sense to me because if I go into disk managment in vista it says I have C:146.48 GB, X: 292.97 GB, and 26.31 GB unalocated space.

    none of which are even 131072MB which comes out to 128 GB

    Anyone know what to make of this?
    Altoona Design
    Freelance Flex developer for hire.
    ActionScript Programmer with 8 Years Experience.

  11. #11
    . shoooo... silver trophy logic_earth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    9,013
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by kotsengkuba View Post
    I work in a notebook manufacturing company and from our experience, we need to create a different BIOS for Vista and XP platforms because failure to do some will cause some hardware not working properly. Anyway, I'm not sure if this also apply with desktop PCs.
    Dell Inspiron E1705 - No BIOS tweaks or switches, Handles Vista and XP at the same time. Also Linux and OS X.

    E1705 is a laptop btw...
    Logic without the fatal effects.
    All code snippets are licensed under WTFPL.


  12. #12
    SitePoint Zealot internetSurfer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    140
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I highly recommend you burn this iso and use the utility partition magic:

    Hiren's BootCD 9.4
    http://www.middown.com/modules.php?n...rticle&sid=595

    This will show you all partitions and will allow you to create new
    partitions or resize partitions.

  13. #13
    Pragmatic Programmer halfasleeps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Altoona, PA. USA
    Posts
    1,945
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I also tried to do the virtual PC and it wants me to share my ram across the 2 and I dont want to do that, I want to have full power whenever I run each one.
    Altoona Design
    Freelance Flex developer for hire.
    ActionScript Programmer with 8 Years Experience.

  14. #14
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    326
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm useing BootIt NG and Image for Windows and couldn't be happier with the results:
    http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/index.htm

    Have you looked at VistaBootPRO?:
    http://www.vistabootpro.org/

  15. #15
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    46
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    can you put xp, vista and linux on the same machine?

  16. #16
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    79
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    if you do 2 window on one machine, wont that make your pc even slower and plus vista needs alot of rams to run it.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •