SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    48
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Major headache with Dreamweaver CSS

    Hi there,

    I recently converted to Dreamweaver from Adobe GoLive and have been experiencing difficulties with the CSS transition.

    I'm creating a page that works fine in Firefox but totally explodes in IE. I based the CSS off a dreamweaver template and made sure the template worked in IE.

    Everything was Okay.

    For some reason now, IE just totally breaks the page.

    www.deacro.com/BOM/Home.html

    Mind you, the Firefox version isn't the best either. I'm having a really strange problem with the background image.

    I created a 1600x1200 background gif file, but it only renders where there is html content. How does one apply the background file so it automatically fills the whole browser window?

    I also have a flash file that previews fine in Firefox, but doesn't show when I upload it.

    Sorry for the multiple questions, but it's driving me mad.

  2. #2
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    40,380
    Mentioned
    180 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Hi,

    With a big image like that you may be better of using fixed positioning (which luckily IE6 only understands on the body element anyway) and doing something like this.

    Code:
    body{
        background:#898f93 url(http://www.deacro.com/BOM/Images/Background.gif) no-repeat fixed 100% 100%;
    
    }
    That should keep your image on the page at all times. Otherwise if you anchor it to the bottom of the window using scroll it will probably scroll away.

  3. #3
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    40,380
    Mentioned
    180 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Is the path to your script correct?

    it doesn't seem to be here which is where you are pointing to:

    http://www.deacro.com/BOM/Scripts/AC...tiveContent.js

    What are the other problems you have with IE specifically?

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    48
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul O'B View Post
    Is the path to your script correct?

    it doesn't seem to be here which is where you are pointing to:

    http://www.deacro.com/BOM/Scripts/AC...tiveContent.js

    What are the other problems you have with IE specifically?
    Hi Paul,

    I totally forgot about the script folder. That fixes the Flash display problem.

    The page still explodes in IE though and I really can't figure out why.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    715
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,
    I changed your code a little:
    Code:
    .twoColFixRtHdr #mainContent {
    	margin: 0;
    	padding: 0 20px;
    	float:left;
    	width: 500px; /* Change this to the proper size, was just using 500px for testing*/
    }

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    48
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by fredda View Post
    Hi,
    I changed your code a little:
    Code:
    .twoColFixRtHdr #mainContent {
    	margin: 0;
    	padding: 0 20px;
    	float:left;
    	width: 500px; /* Change this to the proper size, was just using 500px for testing*/
    }
    Brilliant.

    Dreamweaver was using the margins to control the width. I should have seen that and just put in the width instead.

    Thanks.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    48
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have one more question though...

    The background renders fine in IE, but firefox cuts it off as soon as their is no content. It instead displays the default background color.

  8. #8
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    40,380
    Mentioned
    180 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by csssquirrel
    The background renders fine in IE, but firefox cuts it off as soon as their is no content. It instead displays the default background color.
    Hopefully that was the issue my solution in post #2 would address. If it doesn't or you want something different then post again and I'll take another look.

    I think that if you go with your current method you will find that as you add more content then the background image will be dragged right down the page. Try adding a lot more content to see what I mean. If you use fixed positioning you should be able to keep the image in view at all times.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •