SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict Jonny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Norwich, UK
    Posts
    272
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    IE6 imposing its own widths

    Please see http://www.urbaneblinds.co.uk. If you hover over the 'Blind Range' button for example, you'll see a dropdown menu. Effectively, this menu is contained in a <ul>, set to display: none; until its parent button is hovered over.

    In theory, this <ul> shouldn't need a width setting to it and this is the case in every browser except IE6, which seems to define its own width and cut it short, meaning the list items fall onto several lines.

    I could potentially a give each <ul> a set width, but I shouldn't have to and I want to allow for text to be re-sized without knacking other browsers - is there anything I can do?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Design Your Site Team bronze trophy Erik J's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Countryside, Sweden
    Posts
    3,407
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What if you set the sub-ul to 100&#37; width?
    Happy ADD/ADHD with Asperger's

  3. #3
    SitePoint Addict Jonny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Norwich, UK
    Posts
    272
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Worked a treat - so obvious as well!

    Thanks.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Addict Jonny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Norwich, UK
    Posts
    272
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Actually, this does work however it also means that a horizontal scrollbar appears when the sub ul shows because of its 100% width.

    Any other alternatives?

    Thanks.

  5. #5
    Design Your Site Team bronze trophy Erik J's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Countryside, Sweden
    Posts
    3,407
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If scroll is not happening in IE6, perhaps serving the rule only to IE6 is better?
    Like
    Code CSS:
    * html #menubar ul li ul {
    	width:100&#37;;
    }
    Happy ADD/ADHD with Asperger's

  6. #6
    padawan silver trophybronze trophy markbrown4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    4,117
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    If the wrapper is containing these elements then you could use overflow: auto to chop off what hangs outside.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •