User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question Arrays and loops

Hiya,

Okay I'm a total beginner in javascript but wanting to learn. I'm working on a very simple website to start myself off, but I'm totally stuck!!
    I have 2 arrays and need to use either a for or while loop (no idea which, as I said, very new to this) to match them up somehow

var password = new Array (5);
    password[0] = 'password';
    password[1] = 'bluesky';
    password[2] = 'dr45gr6';
    password[3] = 'onlyme';
    password[4] = 'lothlorien';

var customercodes = new Array (5);
    customercodes[0] ='lt-17';
    customercodes[1] = 'gw-3';
    customercodes[2] = 'lg-9';
    customercodes[3] = 'il-77';
    customercodes[4] = 'fy-32';

These are the 2 array and I want to put in a prompt window (I can get that far!!! ) to give instruct user to put in a password. The password should then match up the the customercode (like password 1 is customercode 1) and display that on the screen. If a wrong password is entered, it should keep asking til a right one is entered.

Does anyone have any tips which loops to use and how I should put it??

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi, welcome to the forums!

With web development, Javascript usage tends to be rather tricky. One thing to take into consideration is that a user is able to alter javascript on the fly to get around certain javascript checks (or turn it off completely). Also, people are able to view the source of your page, and would see the login details needed.

That said, it's a better idea to use a server side language such as PHP to handle authenticating a user. As far as what to do with incorrect logins, most people say the username/password is wrong, but don't give them hints as to what it is. In fact, I know some sites that will completely deactivate your account if you fail to login more than 3 times.