Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    SitePoint Wizard
    Mentioned
    29 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

[LOGO] Critques requested

Hello,

I'm not really a designer, but I'm trying to come up with a good logo since I'm working on getting my branding all hammered out.

http://www.arwebdesign.net/demos/logos.png

Basically, there are a couple of divisions (the first one isn't a division, it's my name) and I want to have them all keep the same style, which is why there are 3 different sets of sub-words. There are also two that show how it looks smaller, and two that show it in gray-scale, just for testing.

Thanks.

SitePoint Wizard
    Mentioned
    29 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've made some changes since I first requested to have this logo critiqued:
    http://www.arwebdesign.net/demos/logos2.png

The bottom one is my latest version, and the one below that is the same logo in b&w.

I Love Licorice silver trophybronze trophy Datura's Avatar
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It is very difficult to read, this logo/name of yours, it is also very weak and undecided looking.

You committed the ultimate design sin, you took a font that was complex and laid a complex design behind it. There is one good rule to remember in designing: complex on simple, simple on complex. Just that knowing could have saved you from this major problem you have created.

I do not know where to begin to correct it, all elements need redoing. The font (I do not know that one, looks hand made actually) is very disturbing with that thorny look. The spacing of the letters is totally unbalanced. Your name dangling under the "logo" is so thin and flimsy, I do not see a person with confidence there.

I went to your site and saw the header. The artwork is very uneven also, and now I imagine this "logo' combined with it, it will be chaos. The service you offer does sound very professional, just the artwork does not live up to what you have to offer.