SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard masm50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,508
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Root Directory for Apache/PHP?

    I am a bit stuck here.

    I am trying to install Firesite:
    http://www.dotvoid.com/firesite.php

    and in the setup (settings.php) it asks for the Root Directory (not the webroot of http://localhost/...).

    I am running Apache and PHP, with Apache loaded firesite to the following directory on my Windows 98r2 PC:

    c:\program files\apache group\apache\htdocs\firesite

    so what is the root directory for firesite?
    how do I write it?

    Thanks in advance,

    Tim

  2. #2
    Mlle. Ledoyen silver trophy seanf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    7,168
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    c:/program files/apache group/apache/htdocs/firesite

    Sean
    Harry Potter

    -- You lived inside my world so softly
    -- Protected only by the kindness of your nature

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard masm50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,508
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    I wish!

    I wish!

    No, in the example they give, it goes something like:

    /root/www/tmp/firesite

    I haven't got a clue?

    Cheers

    Tim

  4. #4
    Web Genius
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    708
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)


    Couldn't you also do a

    <?
    phpinfo();

    ?>

    Get the dir from there and addon the relative sub dir to your root one if you didn't know it?

  5. #5
    Web Genius
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    708
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: I wish!

    Originally posted by masm50
    I wish!

    No, in the example they give, it goes something like:

    /root/www/tmp/firesite

    I haven't got a clue?

    Cheers

    Tim
    Have your tried what Sean asked? That example might be because they expect you to install it on a Unix or Linux system... not windows. So the path would be different.

  6. #6
    Mlle. Ledoyen silver trophy seanf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    7,168
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you had tried the path I posted above you would have seen it is correct, the example is for Linux

    Sean
    Harry Potter

    -- You lived inside my world so softly
    -- Protected only by the kindness of your nature

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard masm50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,508
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Sorry

    Thanks guys,

    got it sorted now.

    I was a bit confused, as firesite installed itself a bit strangely.

    As the index and settings files for it were located at:

    c:/program files/apache group/apache/htdocs/firesite

    while the root they wanted was:

    c:/program files/apache group/apache/htdocs/firesite/firesite

    My fault,

    Thanks again.

    Tim


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •