User Tag List

SitePoint Addict
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Unobtrusive Javascript

Hi guys,

I'm just after some information regarding unobtrusive Javascript, preferably something that isn't too heavy (I'm still very new to js) and will explain the concept in clear terms.

At the moment I believe it to be something along the lines of setting up a load function, like follows:

Code JAVASCRIPT:
    function addLoadEvent(func) {
      var oldonload = window.onload;
      if (typeof window.onload != 'function') {
        window.onload = func;
      } else {
        window.onload = function() {
          if (oldonload) {
            oldonload();
          }
          func();
        }
      }
    }

Then using this function, call others you want to run when the page loads:
    Code JAVASCRIPT:
    addLoadEvent(test);

Then, in the function being called, find out the element ID and apply a function to it:
    Code JAVASCRIPT:
    function test () {
    	document.getElementById('live_phone').onclick = function () {
    		alert('Function is working...');
    	}
    }

Assuming this is indeed the correct way to do it, that's fine I guess, but there's a few added complications too: For example, if I have all of my js in functions.js, will the above code not be executed on each page? What if I only wanted to execute it on one of hundreds of pages?

Also, I'm sure I'm not alone in having a header.php file that'll call in any relevant javascript onto each page; this itself is an added complication because you can't execute code using body onLoad either, or are you not supposed to do this even for something you only want executed on one of many pages?

Hope this post has made some sort of sense.

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    since you're using PHP it shouldn't be all that hard to write the logic (in php) which decides wether or not to load the appropriate javascript.