SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Zealot
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Seasoned developer, zero marketing experience

Ok, so this is probably the 1 million dollar question. I have my freelance site online and I have been designing and developing web sites for about 10 years. Although I have no qualms in admitting I have zero experience on the marketing side of web sites.

From someone who has experience in this field what would you recommend as a starting point for my quest to unravel this mystery.

• Is there a recommended book that is the holy grail of marketing information?
    • Are there web sites are forums that give real world examples and users can share and discuss there marketing experiences online?
    • Are there sites for e-marketing only initiatives?

Thanks,
    James

SitePoint Enthusiast Eric Engel's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There are five billion and one books / ebooks on the subject. Many of them are free. Hardly any of them are worth the space they take on a hard drive / book shelf.

Are you looking for something to make the sites you develop more marketing oriented or are you looking for something to help you market your own services?

If you just want to know more about marketing so that you can produce more effective websites, I would say that you should link up with a marketer and raise your prices for each project.

SitePoint Zealot
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I would like to learn to market my services. I have no real marketing experience though so I guess I would like to learn the basics of real world marketing techniques and how to market myself and the services I offer.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Let me ask you something.

I want to learn the basics of developing. What steps do you think I should take? Where could I find a 101 that will actually help me learn to do the basics?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)