Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

How to get users to participate on my forum

Hi folks,

What are some of the promotional techniques to get a community forum going? I'm a total noob when it comes to that - but I'm very motivated to make it grow.

I created a forum which is very nicely integrated with the rest of the site, thatks to a SP member who volenteered his time. It's a very useful forum IMO. Although it looks good and all, it receives very few signups. We do get the traffic but people don't seem to want to go any further. What are some clever ways to get the users to join? I'm not interested in hearing about dubeous schemes; I want users to join because they want to be part of the community. I get one or two registrations a day, but almost no posts from the members.

Link to the forum

Thanks, your time is appreciated.
    godaycare.com - Canadian daycare listings with reviews
    Parenting and Child care Forum - Canadian child care forum

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Perhaps try placing some text around other areas of the site letting users know that they can come to the forum to ask questions. Many people perceive forums as places for discussion, rather than just straight up asking questions. You don't want people leaving tons of questions on a big forum as it would become unwieldy and many questions would go unanswered, but on a smaller forum like yours this may be a good idea in the beginning to generate more content - as long as you don't mind answering all the questions yourself.