SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Microsoft Ad Centre Hacked?

    Tried to signup for free 50 of clicks using a coupon I was sent, but when trying to access tryadcentre.co.uk it goes to a different / rival PPC page lol

  2. #2
    Follow Me On Twitter: @djg gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Grossman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Philadephia, PA
    Posts
    20,580
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That's because the service is Microsoft adCenter, not Ad Centre, and the website is tryadcenter.co.uk.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    105
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Dan Grossman View Post
    That's because the service is Microsoft adCenter, not Ad Centre, and the website is tryadcenter.co.uk.
    LOL idiots. If you are targeting UK, then use "centre". Another reason why Microsoft is getting owned by Google.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    lol, you'd have thought they would have had that one covered... ?

  5. #5
    Follow Me On Twitter: @djg gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Grossman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Philadephia, PA
    Posts
    20,580
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Animedude View Post
    LOL idiots. If you are targeting UK, then use "centre". Another reason why Microsoft is getting owned by Google.
    Giving yourself a different name in each region is bad for branding, not to mention expensive and complicated for them to manage.

    I applaud Microsoft for teaching the UK to spell.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard masm50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,508
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    They should run it form adcenter to keep it all as the same brand as you say, but center is spelled centre here and so buying that domain as well should have been handled by now. I imagine a lot of people are going to misspell this one.

    -Tim

  7. #7
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Radeon View Post
    Tried to signup for free 50 of clicks using a coupon I was sent, but when trying to access tryadcentre.co.uk it goes to a different / rival PPC page lol
    It's because, Mircosoft do not understand english spellings

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    4,686
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Before everyone starts pointing fingers at Microsoft for their choice of domains, it's worth noting that neither tryadcenter.co.uk or tryadcentre.co.uk appears to belong to Microsoft. TryAdCenter has a nice splash page, Omniture Analytics and a great look but it redirects to another domain. Why? Probably because it's some sort of affiliate page.

    http://webwhois.nic.uk/cgi-bin/whois...OIS+Submit.y=5

    That said, adcentre.microsoft.com doesn't point to adcenter.microsoft.com or even work.
    - Ted S

  9. #9
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    10
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    OMG, LOL how can some people be so careless with such thing. Geez. Phew! what can I say!


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •