SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy Black Max's Avatar
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Promoting and Raising $$ For a NonProfit Site

This is probably not the first time you guys have been asked this, but I didn't find anything quite suitable in a search. So, apologies in advance.

I'm a junior admin for the History Commons. We're doggedly non-profit (503-C), to the point where the senior admins don't want advertising. We survive on a small grant and on donations. The best way to describe the site is "we want to be a historical / political Wikipedia," without the lefty-righty partisan connotations of your average blog. (We're NOT a blog.)

Basically, we're out of $$. Our senior editor is on indefinite hiatus because we don't have the bucks to keep him working. Very bad for us.

Here's what's in the pipeline already: a RFQ for a site redesign (there will be a fee for the design selected, but it won't be what a commercial design would bring). A user survey is going to be released to the email list (about 4,000 readers). We're considering putting up a blog for user interaction. We're discussing different methods of outreach, but haven't hit on anything yet. We're researchers and grassroots organizer types, not designers or marketers, so we're kind of at sea.

Any ideas? We really need some direction here.
    Last edited by stymiee; Jan 5, 2008 at 17:07. Reason: removed unnecessary link.

Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Can't say I'm thrilled with the response so far....

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I apologise, I simply am not exactly sure how to help a person in your position.

For outreach, free outreach, I would suggest that as many of the team as is willing post on other blogs and forums with your link in the sig. Other than that, I do not know how to help your funding issues.

SitePoint Enthusiast hollywoodOG's Avatar
    Mentioned