SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    106
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    google search site

    I have been told that you can get a google search site from google. I have tried this but find it a little complicated.

    I researched it a little. Its easy to get google to do a search for you. Its just a form. Yet the complicated thing is to get it to search your site

    You have to get it to add the words

    site:scarboroughphotos.110mb.com

    then it will search your site. What i want is a form which allows you to search your site. How can you get a form to add the words

    site:scarboroughphotos.110mb.com

    to any words contained within a text box.

  2. #2
    ✯✯✯ silver trophybronze trophy php_daemon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    5,284
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Isn't that something AdSense for Search does?
    Saul

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    106
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Possibly it does do that. I just don't want every page on my site littered with google adsense and google boxes. I just want a button and text box saying search this site.

    I suppose I could default the text as

    site:scarboroughphotos.110mb.com

    But I am sure users would find ways of messing it up

    Its just the space that bothers me

  4. #4
    ✯✯✯ silver trophybronze trophy php_daemon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    5,284
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Saul

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    106
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    http://www.wwwsearchsolutions.com/google.php

    This is more what I am looking for. It does google searches but none of the extra stuff. I just need to know how to make this so it searches a site now

  6. #6
    ✯✯✯ silver trophybronze trophy php_daemon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    5,284
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well basically, when you send a request to the api, you send the query, so all you need is to append the string you want to that query.
    Saul

  7. #7
    hi galen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    New Haven, CT
    Posts
    1,228
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    are you talking about google custom search engine?

    http://www.google.com/coop/cse/


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •