User Tag List

SitePoint Wizard
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

using AJAX with jQuery

Hello,
    I'm new to jQuery (and AJAX for that matter). Even if the library is really easy to use, I'm still having problems "ajaxing".

I'd like to understand how to post the following simple form to the server, and send a message to the client depending on the submission process output (telling him if what he submitted is ok or not).

Would someone be kind enough to guide me through the steps?

Here's the HTML bit. I am going to use jQuery with the Zend Framework (PHP).

HTML Code:
     <html>
      <head>
        <script type="text/javascript" src="jquery-1.2.1.js"></script>
        <script type="text/javascript">

//?

</script>

</head>
      <body>

<form action="/test/ajax/record/" method="post">

<input type="text" name="test" value="" />
        <input type="submit" name="ajax" value="save" />

</form>

</body>
     </html>

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi, JJ

jQuery's selectors work best with id's. So in order to be able to submit information to the library, you'll need to give each form input an id value. Try something like id='test' and id='submit'.

Assuming you've added this to your form, here's some sample code to get you started using AJAX in jQuery:

Code:
    $(document).ready(function()
    {

$("#submit").click(function()
    	{

$.ajax
    	    ({
    		type:	'POST',
    		url:	  '/test/ajax/record/',
    		data:	  'test=' + $('#test').val(),
    		dataType: 'json',

success: function(data)
    		{
    			alert('It worked! The response was: ' + data);
    		},

error:function(data)
    		{
    			alert('There was an error! The response was: ' + data);
    		}

});
    });

I haven't tested it but it should work ok, so long as you enter the above code in the section of the header for JavaScript.