SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot xiaawan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Islamabad, Pakistan
    Posts
    101
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Web Page has Expired Problem?

    Hi All can anyone help me with this problem. Is it possible to use the form method as "Post" and avoiding the message "Webpage has expired". Actually after a search a list of records appear. And user clicks on any link in the list and the website takes him to the next page when he clicks browser back button , the page is loaded with this message "Webpage has expired". I know this can be avoided with Get method. But is it possible with Post method. Thanks in Advance.
    Zia Awan

  2. #2
    Beer drinker Srirangan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Beerland!
    Posts
    776
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Remove the <meta> cache line that'd be present in between the <head></head> tags..
    Online Startups Insight for new entrepreneurs

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot xiaawan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Islamabad, Pakistan
    Posts
    101
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Dear Srirangan thank you for your quick reply but there is only one meta tag between my <head> tag that does not contain any information regarding cache. So removing it will not solve my problem. It contains charset info. Any other idea. Anyhow thank you for your reply.

    Code HTML4Strict:
    <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/strict.dtd">		 
    <html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" xml:lang="en" lang="en">
    <head>   
    <title>My Site Title</title>
     
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1" />
     
    </head>
    Zia Awan

  4. #4
    SitePoint Guru dbevfat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    ljubljana, slovenia
    Posts
    684
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    xlaawan: maybe this article can help you.

    regards

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot xiaawan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Islamabad, Pakistan
    Posts
    101
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Dear dbevfat I saw this article some times ago but at that time I could not get too much out of it. But this time I got an idea from this article. So I used a mid-page between two pages and redirected the page to the end one and it solved my problem. Thank you very much for this help. Sometimes we ignored many things but actually they can work for us if we try to understand them. I will also make a comment over there in the article. Thanks again. See u in any other post. God Bless You. Have a nice Time.
    Zia Awan

  6. #6
    SitePoint Zealot 2ndmouse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    West London
    Posts
    196
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by xiaawan View Post
    Dear dbevfat I saw this article some times ago but at that time I could not get too much out of it. But this time I got an idea from this article. So I used a mid-page between two pages and redirected the page to the end one and it solved my problem. Thank you very much for this help. Sometimes we ignored many things but actually they can work for us if we try to understand them. I will also make a comment over there in the article. Thanks again. See u in any other post. God Bless You. Have a nice Time.
    Sorry to resurrect this one and I hope I'm not being too simplistic here, but I got round this problem by providing the user with their very own 'Back' button, which POSTs all the required data back to the form page.

    Works a treat.

  7. #7
    Spirit Coder allspiritseve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Ann Arbor, MI (USA)
    Posts
    648
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by 2ndmouse View Post
    Sorry to resurrect this one and I hope I'm not being too simplistic here, but I got round this problem by providing the user with their very own 'Back' button, which POSTs all the required data back to the form page.

    Works a treat.
    The best thing to do, would probably be to redirect after POST:

    PHP Code:
    headerl('location: original_form.php'); 
    That way the user is provided with a GET page, and if they hit back, they go back to the original GET without resubmitting or expiration.

    Also- POST should generally be used when you're writing to the database, or making some other change-- you should normally use GET when retrieving a list of records.

    Cory

  8. #8
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hi, In my case we are working with classic asp application.

    In my page we use post method and back button.
    we also used back button to maintain History b/w postback to same page.

    I get Page Expired and need to refresh page.

    Please help me to solve this problem.!

    Thanks,
    rajesh

  9. #9
    SitePoint Guru dbevfat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    ljubljana, slovenia
    Posts
    684
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm glad I could help.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •