SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SitePoint Evangelist Jhorra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Phoenix, Az
    Posts
    551
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Possible to make a smei-transparent background image?

    I was told it's possible to use an image for a background, and have it semi-transparent. Is this possible, and if so how is this done?

  2. #2
    SitePoint Enthusiast keyshey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    37
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    im not sure if it can be applied to just the background

    i know opacity will be applied on the whole element

    Code:
    #box {
                 background: #123456;
    	opacity: .5;
    	filter: alpha(opacity=50);
                 -moz-opacity:.50;
    }
    but i may be wrong, so....

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    1,921
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    But if it's the background, what are you hoping to see through it???

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast keyshey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    37
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    he may want to use it as a background of a table or whatever
    instead of the body background

  5. #5
    SitePoint Evangelist Jhorra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Phoenix, Az
    Posts
    551
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Its so the words on top are more legible.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy Centauri's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Newcastle, Australia
    Posts
    3,718
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This can be done by creating a .png graphic with the alpha transparency set - will need to use the alphaImageLoader to get it to work in IE6 though.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Evangelist Jhorra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Phoenix, Az
    Posts
    551
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well, I was hoping to do it with user uploaded pictures. I'm guessing this isn't possible. Would it be possible to use the same program I create the thumbnail with to save an additional copy with a transparency on it?


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •