SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Simulating ded. server offline and other questions...

Hi @all,

My first Post and here we go :

I've been having various thoughts/ideas etc. about websites that I currently have and projects that I want to develop, I think a dedicated server is the way to go and for some ideas the only option. I still have reservations about plopping down $200 a month (rackspace.com) with little experience in *nix server configuration and administration.

1. Is there anyway I can simulate a dedicated server offline?
    I've been running Slackware for approximately a year and compiled Apache, PHP etc. from source. So I have some experience. When I was first learning PHP/MySQL, it saved me a lot of time and money to be able to try things on my localserver first and then, when I was ready, upload everything to a host. I realize it is not the same thing to run Apache offline as it is to simulate a DNS, Mail Servers etc.!

2. Control Panel Applications -- PLESK and co.
    I spent 5 hours yesterday reading old threads in this forum and webhosttalk.com. I noticed a lot of talk of these control panel apps. I had previously only heard of Webmin (shame on me!). I thought I was going to do everything from the command prompt and further my Linux skills. Is this suicide or worth the effort?

My thought is that those control panels are just a graphic front-end. And to be dependent on that is like reverting back to windows. This is one reason why I run Slackware instead of Mandrake. (My personal philosophy: The long way is the short-cut.)

3.Can I change some of the software on a dedicated host?