SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: Banned by Yahoo

  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    270
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Banned by Yahoo

    Hi there

    I wonder if someone can help me, one of my sites seems to have been banned from yahoo, i cant seem to find a contact email or any way to contect yahoo about this ? does anyone know how ? or had problems with bein banned before ?

    Woc
    ps i have no idea why its been banned
    ]

  2. #2
    SitePoint Enthusiast cheap freelancer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    99
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Might be your competitior was spamming your website in yahoo groups and answers.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    270
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Huh who was doing that ?
    ]

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    40
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Is that possible?

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1,208
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Check to see if it is listed when you search for it. They might be updateing serp for it.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    270
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I had thought that too, i have left it a few months i thought it would correct itself, but doesnt seem to have, i cant post the site as it has adult content

    Woc
    ]

  7. #7
    In memoriam gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Schulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Aurora, Illinois
    Posts
    15,476
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by cheap freelancer View Post
    Might be your competitior was spamming your website in yahoo groups and answers.
    That's not even possible. If that was the case, then nobody's site would be listed - in ANY search engine.

    WoC, which site is this you're having problems with?

  8. #8
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    California
    Posts
    357
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just how do you get banned in Yahoo without getting banned in Google? I'n not too familiar with Yahoo seo, so I was wondering.

  9. #9
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    191
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Dan Schulz View Post
    That's not even possible. If that was the case, then nobody's site would be listed - in ANY search engine.

    WoC, which site is this you're having problems with?
    I agree, The SEs detect those doing that kind of stuffs...

  10. #10
    SitePoint Addict intelligence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    265
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Roll on yahoo group/yahoo answer/yahoo SN/blogs, it will help you back.
    Convert your Ideas to Application
    UK Web Development | SEO Guru

  11. #11
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    270
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi there

    Its an adult dating site so i dont think i can post it, its the 4th link down on this search

    site size 44k

    Woc
    ps i aint been spammin anyone, so i dunno what the yahoo groups bit mentioned above is all about !
    ]

  12. #12
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    141
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There are many reasons banned by a search engine. So just go to yahoo site and search for their guidelines or terms of use, etc. Check whether you did anything offend their policy.

    One thing I'm interesting is that: how many traffic driven by yahoo prior banned by it?

  13. #13
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    270
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi there

    I didnt get much traffic really, but people could find the domain and it was ranking well on good keywords, as we all know every little bit helps, the reason why i wanted to get it sorted is that if u put the name of the site in yahoo, it doesnt come up with the site if you put .com on the end it does but without it doesnt, and thats pretty annoying !

    Woc
    ]

  14. #14
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy bigalreturns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1,295
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You aren't banned by Yahoo! If you show up in the results for any search, which you do "www.sitename.com", then you must be in their index. The problem you have is more of a ranking one, and in traditional style I shall refer you to his forum's FAQ, and tell you to follow the steps found in their.
    "The proper function of man is to live - not to exist."
    Get a Free TomTom


  15. #15
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    California
    Posts
    357
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    have you tried typing linkdomain:www.yoursitename.com ??
    Just to check if it's really still there. It should return the backlinks to your site.

  16. #16
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    put in yahoo code in site or server.....

    just once again see that your site is in yahoo or not.....

    check link:yoursitename.com

    site:yoursitename.com

  17. #17
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    59
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

  18. #18
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    270
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Thanks for the link

    Quote Originally Posted by kompoint View Post
    Finally a sensible answer !

    Thanks v much

    Woc
    ]

  19. #19
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy bigalreturns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1,295
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by worldofchat View Post
    Finally a sensible answer !

    Thanks v much

    Woc
    It's a sensible link if your site was banned, but as it isn't, then submitting this form won't make any difference.
    Why your site isn't banned:
    1)
    Quote Originally Posted by Yahoo Resubmission Page
    • If your site appears in the results, it is listed in the Yahoo Search Index.
    • If your web site is listed in the Yahoo! Index but does not appear to come up in the Yahoo! Search results for specific searches and keywords, it may be because it is not ranking in the top results for those particular searches
    2) This search

    You have an indexing and ranking problem, but you aren't banned.
    "The proper function of man is to live - not to exist."
    Get a Free TomTom



Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •