SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

You must be this old to enter....Alcohol sites

I've just come across a website for some premium rum. As is always the case it has asked for my DOB to verify my adulthood (as though no one could break that impenetrable fortress!)

It's got me wondering:

What's the point?
    Is it harmful for kids to view Alcohol related websites?
    Given the wide range of crap on the interweb, why protect youngens from Alcohol, which can't even be downloaded? (I checked)

Who's legislated this requirement?
    I've seen the "security" on sites for companies based in different countries, such as the US and Australia. Is there a legal basis, or is it just an alcohol industry convention?
    What would happen if I created a site without the protection?
    What if I'm not a producer of Alcohol, just a fan?

It just seems kinda ridiculous to me. If there are laws relating to this practice what else is legislated on the internet?

SitePoint Addict
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You checked if the alcohol could be downloaded?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don't think it's so much about legislation but more about responsible site ownership. Why; and what be the point of allowing your site to be accessed by adolescents who cannot legally purchase what your advertising? I think it's fantastic that the site owners are not looking to "groom" young people and are taking a responsible attitude towards a commonly available drug that destroys more lives than all the rest put together. Before you ask "Yes" I do drink.
    There are three kinds of men:
    The ones that learn by reading.
    The few who learn by observation.
    The rest of us have to pee on the electric fence.

SitePoint Addict
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)