SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict hitmanuk2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Leeds, England
    Posts
    234
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    IE bullet problems

    Hello,

    So yea... this site doesn't validate... but it's mainly due to bad coding if some plugins we use and in the posts themselves on the blog. So where possible shut your eyes to these errors.

    If there is a simple fix to this problem I'd be happy... basically it looks just about how we want in Firefox on the sidebar... http://www.obsessedwithfilm.com/ but if you look in IE7 the problems appear.

    EDIT: Just noticed another problem, this time in IE6 (I don't usually have access to IE6 so hadn't noticed). The navbar background doesn't seem to appear, meaning you can't see the text (unless you hover).
    Last edited by hitmanuk2k; Nov 27, 2007 at 05:06.
    Follow me on Twitter, or find me on LinkedIn. Latest project: loanpayday.org.uk.

  2. #2
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    40,350
    Mentioned
    179 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Hi,

    The problem is caused because you have an invalid list structure on the right hand side.
    Code:
        </div>
            <div id="right">
                <div class="subcontainer">
                    <ul>
                        <div> <b class="spiffy-1"> <b class="spiffy1-1"><b></b></b> <b class="spiffy2-1"><b></b></b> <b class="spiffy3-1"></b> <b class="spiffy4-1"></b> <b class="spiffy5-1"></b></b>
                            <div class="spiffyfg-1">
                                <div id="recenttitle-1">LATEST MOVIE NEWS</div>
                                <li id="cat-posts-1" class="widget widget_cat_posts">
    All that part in bold cannot be in that position as nothing can come after a ul opening tag except a li opening tag. You will have to move all that section inside the li opening tag. You of course have the same error at the closing list tag and you must move all those divs inside the li closing tag.

    In a list structure the content can only come inside the opening "li" tag and the closing "li" tag. (<ul><li> ....Content must come here... </li></ul>).

    Moving the offending code will fix the issue.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Addict hitmanuk2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Leeds, England
    Posts
    234
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Which part is in bold? I don't see anything in bold.

    The problem is with the widgets which have a class "widget widget_text" (the wide boxes after the Latest Reviews box)... all the ones above it appear correctly. Sorry I should have been far more specific.
    Follow me on Twitter, or find me on LinkedIn. Latest project: loanpayday.org.uk.

  4. #4
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    40,350
    Mentioned
    179 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Which part is in bold? I don't see anything in bold.
    Put your glasses on and re-read my post

    This was the part that I marked in bold in the code I posted.
    Code:
     <div> <b class="spiffy-1"> <b class="spiffy1-1"><b></b></b> <b class="spiffy2-1"><b></b></b> <b class="spiffy3-1"></b> <b class="spiffy4-1"></b> <b class="spiffy5-1"></b></b>
                            <div class="spiffyfg-1">
                                <div id="recenttitle-1">LATEST MOVIE NEWS</div>

    I have given you the exact 100&#37; solution to your problem and it addresses the issues that you were talking about. You cannot expect to use invalid broken code and still expect the page to render correctly.

    You have broken the list completely and IE is guessing that those divs are lists and they're not.

    Make the changes I recommended and it will be resolved.

    I don't think I can say this any clearer

  5. #5
    SitePoint Addict hitmanuk2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Leeds, England
    Posts
    234
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks no problem I wasn't trying to undermine your advice. But nothing appears in bold on my screen in your first post.
    Follow me on Twitter, or find me on LinkedIn. Latest project: loanpayday.org.uk.

  6. #6
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    40,350
    Mentioned
    179 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    But nothing appears in bold on my screen in your first post.
    Hmm.. That's strange. I'm not sure why you can't see it but it looks bold to me on all my browsers. (Except that IE7 makes it hard to tell as there is only a slight difference between bold and normal on ie7.)

    The code in post#4 is the offending code and will fix your problem if you put it in a valid location

    Hope you get it sorted.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Addict hitmanuk2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Leeds, England
    Posts
    234
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I was using Firefox on my Windows Vista Laptop. Back on my XP desktop I can see the bold no problem

    I managed to get it sorted thanks, though sadly had to lose my nice rounded corners on the top box.
    Follow me on Twitter, or find me on LinkedIn. Latest project: loanpayday.org.uk.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Addict hitmanuk2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Leeds, England
    Posts
    234
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just noticed another problem, this time in IE6 (I don't usually have access to IE6 so hadn't noticed). The navbar background doesn't seem to appear, meaning you can't see the text (unless you hover).
    Follow me on Twitter, or find me on LinkedIn. Latest project: loanpayday.org.uk.

  9. #9
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    40,350
    Mentioned
    179 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Looks like a "haslayout" issue so try adding a width here to force "layout".

    Code:
    #navmenu{width:100&#37;}

  10. #10
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy DaveWoods's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Derbyshire - UK
    Posts
    2,651
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Not had a look at this specific page but if you're relying on a background image to provide contrast then you should also specify a background colour so that any users with images disabled won't experience the problem you're describing.

  11. #11
    SitePoint Addict hitmanuk2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Leeds, England
    Posts
    234
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I did already have a background colour specified yes

    The width: 100&#37; solved the issue, thanks again Paul.
    Follow me on Twitter, or find me on LinkedIn. Latest project: loanpayday.org.uk.

  12. #12
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy DaveWoods's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Derbyshire - UK
    Posts
    2,651
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It was more general accessibility advice than targeted at your specific problem as it's something a lot of people do without realising so thought it worth mentioning that a background colour should usually be provided when text is placed on a background image.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •