SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Talking Redirect Link Check Please?

    Hello everyone,

    I was wondering if you could check to see if this redirect link is working to my phpbb2 forum? Here is the redirect link: http://nlightenme.hopto.org Here is the original address: http://localhost/phpBB2/index.php If it doesn't could you give me some suggestions on how to get it working right?

    I'm not on a webhosting company, I'm just using the localhost server at this time, don't have the money a month to keep it up. I would have tried it at this company, but they don't support MySql I guess. http://www.fass.be/ Thank you for your time in advanced.

    Spencer

  2. #2
    Custom User Title v1.0 FireFly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    363
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can't use localhost, you must specify your IP address. If you are under Win9x/Me, type winipcfg in the Run window, and see your IP there. Otherwise type cmd in the Run window, then type ipconfig in the Command Prompt.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question Re: Link Check

    Do you mean under the myPHPAdminpage or in the forum's database or whatever to change the config?

  4. #4
    We like music. weirdbeardmt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Channel Islands Girth: Footlong
    Posts
    5,882
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No he means you have to get the IP of your machine, since localhost won't mean anything to the users browser.

    I assume you have a permanent and speedy connection to be hosting the forums from your PC?
    I swear to drunk I'm not God.
    Matt's debating is not a crime
    Hint: Don't buy a stupid dwarf Clicky

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Talking IP Address Issue

    Hello again,

    Ok, I ran the cmd under start -> and run -> and I got this info here:

    PPP adapter Prolog 3:

    Connection - Specific DNS Suffix.:
    IP Address ......................:204.186.27.21
    Subnet Mask .....................:255.255.255.255
    Default Gateway .................:204.186.27.21

    Ok, now under the My Sql when making a new database for the Forum, put in my username and password right? For the host option, people told me to put localhost, but since I want people to see or use the forum should I put one of the addresses above or use one of the above to create a DNS name at No-IP.com? I have a Dynamic/Static address called nlightenme.sytes.net using this address and wildcard turned on. 204.186.27.23, should I change that as well to one of the above? Maybe the subnet mask one?

    Also, I have found this option on my computer.
    Database Sources (ODBC) with various tabs that read:
    User DSN, System DSN, File DSN, Drivers, Tracing, Connect Pooling. Could I be using this option? I would love to hear from you, and again, I'm sorry for those comments. Thanks in advanced.

    Spencer

  6. #6
    Bimbo With A Brain! silver trophy Saz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Kent, United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,275
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Spencer...

    I merged your post above with the first thread you started. It'll help others to help you if they know your original question.
    Saz: Naturally Blonde, Naturally Dizzy!
    No longer Editor of the Community Crier.

    Don't mind me, I'm having a BLONDE moment!

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy Jeremy W.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    9,123
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This was in response to the above post

    Okay, lots of questions

    I'm not entirely sure how no-ip.com works here, so I'll just run some theory

    Your website needs to map to a "somewhere" locator, which at the end of the day needs to be a PC with an IP address.

    In your case, your website needs to point to a "somewhere" which needs to be constant. That somewhere can really be anything so long as it does point to an active site on your machine.

    Am I making sense?

    For instance:

    blah.com > redirecting service > my home IP > webserver > site

    Seems to be your case, you will just need to ensure a few things:

    1. Your Redirecting Service is always pointing to your correct home IP
    2. Your home connection doesn't go down... Nothing is worse for a community then not being able to access it
    SVP Marketing, SoCast SRM
    Personal blog: Strategerize
    Twitter: @jeremywright

  8. #8
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: ISP Issue

    Hello,

    O you mean instead of creating a redirect link to say: http://localhost/phpbb2/index.php to my ISP address: 127.0.0.1? Or 204.186.27.21? What is the subnet mask of 255.255.255.255? Is that just another form of my IP address?

    O, No-IP.com offers free redirect links, Dynamic/Static addresses. I have a redirect link setup to go to a address above of course though its not the actual address just an example, it's called: nlightenme.hopto.org. But, I deleted the whole zip file of the forum and got the new phpBB 2.0 RC-3 INSTALL forum zip file now. Under the installation directions it has this:

    MS Access 2000/XP
    Before you install phpBB 2.0 you need to create a Data Source Name. The exact way to do this will depend on your hosting provider, if you are unsure you should check with them before proceeding. In general though you should create a System DSN which points to the location where you have stored an unzipped copy of the ms_access_primer.mdb file ( ms_access_primer.zip can be found in db/schemas/). The name you give this DSN will be used during installation. Do not proceed until this step is complete!

    Please note that MS Access support is not designed for busy boards. If you anticipate more than one or two users being online at any given time you should upgrade to a more robust server solution.

    What do you think I should do about this? I wish this stuff was a little bit easier lol But, to have a board you need a database and so forth.

    Thanks,

    Spencer

  9. #9
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy Jeremy W.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    9,123
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This is a bit out of my area (I'm an ASP guy after all and only came in to help out a little), but your IP is this:

    204.186.27.21

    The first one is the default localhost IP, the second is an open (and banned) subnet mask.

    You will need to point the redirect URL to your IP, which you may need to change every time you logon... This is one of teh failuers of trying to host your own site really... You are ultimately responsible for everything.

    I realise you said you have zero budget, but you can get xNix hosting for as little as 3$/month. Surely that would be a better option then trying to go through all this hassle.

    At that point, your steps would be:

    1. Install bulletin board
    2. Ask host to setup DSN
    3. Smile

    Otherwise you need to:

    1. Sort out your redirection and how it will all work
    2. Install bulletin board
    3. Muddle through DSN (actually, it's pretty easy)
    4. Smile
    5. Redo your redirection every time you logon
    6. Frown
    7. Repeat 5-6 as necessary
    SVP Marketing, SoCast SRM
    Personal blog: Strategerize
    Twitter: @jeremywright

  10. #10
    SitePoint Enthusiast AmandaArias's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Houston, TX USA
    Posts
    82
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Also, there are a few free PHP and MySQL hosts out there. I use them occassionally for development and then when I am done with my site I move it to my paid server. Saves on my bandwidth during development.


    Here are some that I know of - I don't know if they all offer MySQL, but in any case there is always http://www.freesql.org (which appears to not be creating accounts at the moment).

    http://coolfreepages.com
    http://www.spaceports.com
    http://www.barrysworld.com
    http://www.dk3.com
    http://www.websamba.com
    http://www.digie.net - they take about a week or 2 to respond to your account request.

    Good luck.
    Amanda


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •