User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Thumbs down Javascript "objects" and asynchronous methods

Hello everyone,

I came accross this unbelieveably stupid thing in javascript that has been driving me mad in the last few hours. I'd like to share my problem with you, i have very little experience in OO javascript and this might just be the root cause of all my troubles .. :-)

So i've been trying to put together a javascript class to grab some JSON from my php app, table-ize the data and display it. Just as i completed this task in a non-OO (procedural) manner, i realized if i wont convert my functions to a class, the multi-million dimension arraying will drive me crazy when it'll come to rendering another table on the same page, with different data (different request, different JSON response).

i set up my class, defining properties and methods:

Code:
    function magicClass(name) {

this.myName = name
    	this.someVar1 = ''
    	this.someVar2 = ''

this.function asyncFunction() {
    		// i'm using my class-properties here and after asynchronous http requests 
    	}

}
    I went ahead to test my class, using it on 2 locations on a single page.

Code:
    classone = new magicClass('one')
    classone.someVar1 = 'var1_in_class_one'

classtwo = new magicClass('two')
    classtwo.someVar1 = 'var1_in_class_two'
    i even double checked to see if someVar1 was different in classone and classtwo.. it was and i was amazed.. :-)

It was time to move on..

Code:
    classone = new magicClass('one')
    classone.someVar1 = 'var1_in_class_one'
    classone.asyncFunction() // gets JSON, updates DOM (according to 'name')

classtwo = new magicClass('two')
    classtwo.someVar1 = 'var1_in_class_two'
    classtwo.asyncFunction() // gets JSON, updates DOM (according to 'name')