SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question WordPress...Feeling overwhelmed

I just started looking at WordPress more seriously....I use blogger now. I thought it would be a quick install and start using it. After reading about two pages...I am now very unsure. So many here swear by it though, so I still want to explore the option.

That said, I want to seek some opinions...
    1. Do you have it locally installed then upload to your site thought FTP? How smoothly does that go? I use 1&1 for my hosting, so I am unsure about compatability. I am sure it would be fine, but anyone else doing this.

2. If I upload to my webhost am I then "stuck" with using it under only a single domain (forgive me if this seems way off, but I am still rather new to this). If it is uploaded and managed from the host level, are all my changes and updates happening "live"?

3. I see the issues of the plugins...is there a seperate plugin for everything?

4. I guess what I am getting at, is it going to be a major learning curve to implement this??

Thanks for all your input!

Programming Since 1978 silver trophybronze trophy felgall's Avatar
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    1. I would expect almost weveryone is doing it that way since that is the correct way to do it.

2. Want 10 blogs then just upload 10 copies to the appropriate places on your hosting.

3. Like most open source scripts there are lots of plugins to do just about anything someone has thought of to do with the base script.

4. You have to enter about 5 values during the install. I haven't seen an easier to install product.
    Stephen J Chapman

javascriptexample.net, Book Reviews, follow me on Twitter
    HTML Help, CSS Help, JavaScript Help, PHP/mySQL Help, blog
    <input name="html5" type="text" required pattern="^$">

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for the info....