User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Promotion of a gaming site

Hi All,

My name is Neil Vaughan and I am the editor of an Xbox 360 website.

I've been running the site for around 2 years but the traffic doesn't seem to be increasing at all. Our average story gets around 250 views, even though we add more content than other Xbox 360 websites.

What I'd really appreciate is some advice on how to promote the website as well as any ideas of how to increase readership.

Thanks in advance.

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What is the domain?

I find that writing quality articles is the key to traffic. After recently relaunching my site I have been tracking pageviews and dropoff on certain articles and the higher the quality the better.

Promotion can also come from participating in other peoples communities as well as creating one of your own. Ever thought of a competition or contest?

SitePoint Zealot
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You might try posting on gaming forums with your site in your signature. Posting helpful stuff like tips or reviews might make people want to check out your site to see what else you have.

Gaming also seems like a niche that would work well with social bookmarking. The people who randomly surf those sites are probably more likely to be gamers than the average web surfer.

You might also be able to post user reviews on bigger gaming sites (can't remember if IGN lets you do this or not). If you can be one of the first few people to review a new game, you might get some decent exposure there.
    Get more backlinks!
    Auto-submission to 300 quality directories for only $20.

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Guys,

Thanks for the replies so far, the site is at http://www.totally360.com

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)