SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

WordPress for Dummies?

Almost all of the sites I build are for very small businesses (mom & pop stores) which are owned by people with little or no skills with a computer. I use WP for the CMS because it's so simple and still allows the owners to have control of their sites.

I'm finding that a large portion of my time is spent trying to explain the most basic uses to some of these people. Is there an online tutorial that anyone here could recommend for the absolute beginner with no computer knowledge? I've looked at WordPress.org, but their documentation assumes a degree of computer skills that many of my clients just don't have.

I'm looking for the very basics: How to write a post. How to write a page. How to upload an image. How to moderate comments.

Any suggestions & links are appreciated.
    M Blaze Miskulin
    President
    Geek Niche Web Hosting

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This isn't answering your question as such. But I find that modifying the admin panel helps a lot. If they don't need to use a particular function, then remove it. Makes things simpler for them.

In particular, if I'm just using it as a basic CMS with static pages only, then the only options I have in the menu are Pages, Uploads and Profile. And when they go to create a new page, all the sections about trackbacks, commenting and other random stuff that they don't need to use is gone.

I also plan to add a tutorial section to the dashboard with tips and a simple tutorial on how to use it.

These static sites are pretty much idiot proof then. Anyone that's too stupid to use them is generally not the person assigned to look after them.

Ryan,

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If they don't need to use a particular function, then remove it. Makes things simpler for them.