SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Addict
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

2 & 3 column design that X Platform

Is there such a thing as a 3 column design and 2 column design that works on all platform and browsers?? A lot of the examples I have seen say work in x amount but fail in these and badly fail in these.

I am not a designer or experienced in anyway but surely a problem with using CSS for layout is cross browser issues. Yes a better designed page with CSS but if your customers use a browser on a platform your design doesn’t work on then there is no point.

What do more experienced people think???

Cheers

SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy DaveWoods's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Any website should work and be tested in IE6, IE7, Firefox, Opera and Safari as a minimum.

For any good designer, it's not that difficult. However, for so called designers who rely on software like Dreamweaver to churn out invalid code that then relies on browsers error handling then it's a different matter.

Experienced designers will also code using web standards, validate their HTML and CSS and ensure that their site works correctly in standards compliant browsers first and if these methods are followed then it's not hard to get compatibility in IE7, Firefox, Opera and Safari without a single hack.

IE6 has some bugs and a few fixes are needed to be put in place to get it to play nicely but it's certainly possible in all cases.

I'd even go as far to say that it's possible to get IE5.5 to be consistent as well with a little extra work and whilst I wouldn't usually cater for IE5.5, if a client asked me to then it's not an awful lot of extra work just to put a few box model fixes in place.

So yeah, when valid CSS is used with valid HTML and is coded to the latest standards compliance browsers then it's certainly achievable to gain consistency, even for complicated layouts.

Hope that helps.