SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    320
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    need help cleaning up for IE

    http://epos.gasolutions.com/blackhaw.../intranet.html

    site looks great in FF, but then switch to IE6 and blech, the nav is all screwed up, the float is pushing down the other boxes. can someone clue me in?
    Steve Davis

  2. #2
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    320
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    nevermind. as always, simple trial and error, and an HTC file helped me out. i'm good now, though im not sure why the links on the main tabs only work over the text part, even though the A is a block element and the padding is clearly working.
    Steve Davis

  3. #3
    In memoriam gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Schulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Aurora, Illinois
    Posts
    15,495
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Bear in mind I haven't looked at the page, but do you mean that the anchor (which is an inline element) had its display set to block?

  4. #4
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    39,802
    Mentioned
    158 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)
    even though the A is a block element
    If you are talking about IE then this is a common problem and you will need to either force "haslayout" on the anchor assuming that you have already made it block level (eg the height :1% hack * html a.name{height:1%} ) or you can try adding position:relative to the anchor which also has a similar effect depending on the situation.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    320
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i just added "display:block" to the A tags. i'll those hacks though. weird how it does that. god i hate IE.

    why isnt IE7 being adopted more quickly? im tired of optimizing!
    Steve Davis

  6. #6
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    320
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    "position:relative" worked. "height:1%" worked, but it messed with the widths. thanks a lot paul. you're always a huge help.
    Steve Davis

  7. #7
    SitePoint Guru james_littler's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Portsmouth, UK
    Posts
    775
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by CraniumDesigns View Post
    i just added "display:block" to the A tags. i'll those hacks though. weird how it does that. god i hate IE.

    why isnt IE7 being adopted more quickly? im tired of optimizing!
    due to the data protection act it's illegal to keep out dated information, it has to be current and correct, so why the hell is it not illegal to browse with outdated software, all a browser is, is a set of instructions on how to render given html, if those instructions are out of date.....

    in a perfect world ay

  8. #8
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    320
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    browsers should just auto update without your consent. dont like the one you're using? then get another one.
    Steve Davis

  9. #9
    SitePoint Guru james_littler's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Portsmouth, UK
    Posts
    775
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    the only problem there is those users on a dial up connection.

    downloading IE7... Estimated time remaining = 3 weeks

    GET OPERA *far off cry*

  10. #10
    In memoriam gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Schulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Aurora, Illinois
    Posts
    15,495
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sorry, but that's a load of garbage. I downloaded Internet Explorer 7 on dialup (56k) when I reinstalled Windows - it did not take three weeks. Actual download time was about 15-20 minutes via Automatic Updates.

  11. #11
    SitePoint Guru james_littler's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Portsmouth, UK
    Posts
    775
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ok so i was exagerating a tad... still quite a long time when you consider i can download about a gig in that time


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •