SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Can blogging help me get a real job?

I'd like some opinions from people around the world. While I've been working as a freelance developer for a few years, my day job is as a marketing/project manager at a South African chemical engineering company.

I have no formal qualifications, but with 12 years experience under my belt, I know at least as much as the engineers I work with. That said, it's still going to be very difficult for me to ever get a good job in my industry in another country (which is what I'm ultimately aiming at).

So I've been thinking about starting a blog in my field, specializing in articles aimed at engineers. The ultimate aim of the blog will not be to make money, but to show prospective employers my capabilities, knowledge, ability to write, online marketing skills, etc.

Do you think an employer would take my blog into account when deciding to hire me, or am I wasting my time?

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well depends ... if you are planning to blog like what you do on your work or hows your day then that's great. Its like blogging is sharing your tots.

Maybe sometimes your tots that you were sharing might be helpful to some. I think blogging is not a waste of time. You share what we all want to learn.

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Blogging can DEFINITELY help you get a job, but it can also hurt you as well. It's all about strategy. A blog is a good way to demonstrate your knowledge of a subject. I have had a couple of job offers come from my blog over the past couple of years. if you write great content about your topic at hand, it can help. If you show that you don't actually know your field very well, that can hurt you obviously.
    Sara

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)