SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    CSS Error: Column Keeps Shifting

    I originally thought the problem was the so called 3 pixel job effect that was throwing my right column to far to the left, but I really do not know anymore.

    Screen shot here:

    It only occurs in the v5's of IE.
    Any ideas?

    Also, why does text look so crappy on older versions of IE?

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    In memoriam gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Schulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Aurora, Illinois
    Posts
    15,476
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sounds like a box model problem if it's only affecting IE 5.x

    What does your code look like?

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy Centauri's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Newcastle, Australia
    Posts
    3,718
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by TycoDesigns View Post
    It only occurs in the v5's of IE.
    So why worry about it ?

  4. #4
    In memoriam gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Schulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Aurora, Illinois
    Posts
    15,476
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Because he may be required to support IE 5.x in this case - it has been known to happen from time to time.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy DaveWoods's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Derbyshire - UK
    Posts
    2,651
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yep, I'm working with a client at the moment who has specified that it must work in IE5.5. Out of choice I wouldn't personally support IE5.5 or below but when requested to do so by a client it's not that big a deal as I've found it renders pretty much the same as IE6 apart from the box model so a conditional stylesheet with separate width's for any elements with border, margin or padding on usually do the trick without too much hassle.

    If it works fine in IE6 though then I'd almost certainly say you're having box model problems.

  6. #6
    In memoriam gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Schulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Aurora, Illinois
    Posts
    15,476
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Eh, I'd just go with the simplified box model hack and save the extra server call.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy DaveWoods's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Derbyshire - UK
    Posts
    2,651
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've started using separate conditional stylesheets for IE6 and IE5 fixes and it's not going to make a huge difference to load times as it's surely only going to affect the browser that the conditional comment is provided for so IE7, Firefox, Opera and Safari will all completed ignore the extra CSS files and therefore there will be no extra server call for these browsers which will then have the added benefit of the CSS being a smaller file size due to it not containing any hacks

    I used to use a few hacks in the CSS but find conditional comments easier to manage and is easier for a client to understand how the CSS works so they're less likely to go into the CSS and modify things they don't understand..... although that obviously does me out of a little bit of work having to fix their errors


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •