SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Ruby Error

  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict stu567blue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    316
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Ruby Error

    Hi There
    Im using and new to Ruby on Rails when I type in this command in the Ruby black box I get the following reply.

    The command:
    gem update --system

    The Error
    While executing gem... (Gem::RemoteFetcher::FetchError)
    Bad file descriptor - connect(2)(Errno::Ebadf).

    Can anyone help?

  2. #2
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    21
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Robert,

    Are you using the latest version of gems?

    Run gem --version and you should be on 0.9.x (0.9.4 is the latest from memory)

  3. #3
    SitePoint Addict stu567blue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    316
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    it says im on 0.9.2, think i need to do an upgrade, grr, wonderful things packages

  4. #4
    SitePoint Addict stu567blue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    316
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Does anyone know how I would go about updating the ruby gems thingy me bob, as i think my version is out of date?

  5. #5
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    986
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You're using windows? I'd try to reinstall Ruby with the one click installer.

    http://rubyforge.org/projects/rubyinstaller/

  6. #6
    SitePoint Addict stu567blue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    316
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes im using Windows XP and does the Ruby application include the rails

  7. #7
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    21
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    every windows based install I've had to do, I've had to download gems from the website

  8. #8
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    986
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That's quite strange. How did you install Ruby?

  9. #9
    SitePoint Addict stu567blue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    316
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Fenrir2 View Post
    That's quite strange. How did you install Ruby?
    Hi
    My rails version is out of date, I'm assuming that there is some difference between the Ruby Rails comodity and Ruby? Or is it my ignorance?

  10. #10
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    986
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ruby doesn't include Rails, but you can install it with this command:

    Code:
    gem install rails --include-dependencies


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •