Hybrid View

Web Design Addict
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Help with a jQuery star rating script

Hi,

I'm trying to implement this star rating script and can't seem to get it to work.

Keep in mind that I'm not a programmer and I have no idea what I'm doing with jQuery. I'm just trying to copy and paste code and make it work with my site....it's not working.

Here's the site: http://sandbox.wilstuckey.com/jquery-ratings/

1. I've copied the source and created a javascript file called jquery.rating.js.

2. I've copied the form code and pasted it into my template.

3. I copied the javascript and placed it into the head of my document.

Nothing happens.

I noticed while viewing the source of that example, the author has this in the head of the html file:

Code:
    <script type="text/javascript" src="../jquery/dist/jquery.js"></script>
        <script type="text/javascript" src="js/jquery.rating.js"></script>

<script type="text/javascript">        
            jQuery(function(){
                jQuery('form.rating').rating().animate({opacity: 'show'}, 2000);
            });
        </script>
    The author did not supply the jquery.js file in the example, do I need it too?

Do I need to download the images of the stars? Or how is that done?

Note: I'm testing this locally on my machine. Not sure if I need to upload it to my server or not to make it work (but don't think so)
    Twitter: Deron Sizemore

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Take Everything

You will need to upload both the jquery.js file, which you can get at jquery.com if you have not already gotten it, and the jquery.rating.js as well.

You will also want to take the CSS from the page you linked us too and the images as well if you want to use the same images.

Web Design Addict
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by md_doc View Post