SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast emke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    somewhere
    Posts
    69
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Layered transparent objects

    I saw that swimm5001 made these for his "Get the Look: Crisp & Clean", I've made three different layers and they have the same colors but different shapes.

    The problem is when I try to "combine" them, they aren't transparent, when I put a layer on top of another, the layer under can't be seen. How do I make them transparent?

    Hope someone can understand what I mean

    btw I tried searching but couldn't find anything that was of help. I use PS6

    TIA

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard Ian Glass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Beyond yonder
    Posts
    2,384
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    In Photoshop you can adjust a layer's transparency in Layer > Options (I think -- I don't have it opened at the moment). Alternatively, you can adjust a layers transparency via an adjuster bar in the layers pallet.

    ~~Hope This Helps

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast emke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    somewhere
    Posts
    69
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by Ian Glass
    In Photoshop you can adjust a layer's transparency in Layer > Options (I think -- I don't have it opened at the moment). Alternatively, you can adjust a layers transparency via an adjuster bar in the layers pallet.

    ~~Hope This Helps
    I couldn't find any of the two options. I did find Layer > Properties but I don't think that can help me. As for the other option I looked at layers pallet and don't see it.

    Just to make things more clear, this is what I'm trying to accomplish.

    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by emke; Feb 23, 2002 at 19:37.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard Ian Glass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Beyond yonder
    Posts
    2,384
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm sorry, I meant: Layer > Layer Options....

    Anyway, it's not listed as "transparency" -- it's called "opacity" in Photoshop and many other programs and listed as a percentage value. You can adjust a layer's transparency/opacity with the opacity slider.

    ~~Ian

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast emke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    somewhere
    Posts
    69
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I must be blind but I can't see that anywhere. Here is what I get when I click on Layers.

    http://objeqt.com/layer_02.gif

    I really appreciate your help

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast emke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    somewhere
    Posts
    69
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Also regarding the opacity, I tried it and the picture just fades away. If you look att the first pic I attached, I don't think it's supposed to be done that way.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard Ian Glass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Beyond yonder
    Posts
    2,384
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have version 5 so they look like they changed it to Properties -- click there. :-)

    First, stack the objects on their own layer each, and then you can affect the transparency of them with the slider bar individually. They'll fade away a bit so the other layers show though. The more you move the slider, the more transparent the layer will get, and the more the layers underneath will show through.

    Sorry if I confused you at all. It is really quite easy once you start doing it. Just remember that opacity is basically synonymous with transparency in this since. I really hope I'm being helpful, but I may not be explaining this well. Could someone else chime in with their thoughts?

    ~~Ian

  8. #8
    SitePoint Enthusiast emke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    somewhere
    Posts
    69
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I got it. Thanks a lot. You were of great help.

    The slider bar is the key.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Wizard Ian Glass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Beyond yonder
    Posts
    2,384
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Told you it was easy! :-D

    Anyway, I'm glad I could help out a little. I was getting a tad frustrated (as were you I guess). One of the things about PS is that there is usually a fairly easy way (if sometimes a bit tedious) to do anything and everything. You just have to hunt around for a while. ;-)

    ~~Ian

  10. #10
    SitePoint Enthusiast emke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    somewhere
    Posts
    69
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by Ian Glass
    One of the things about PS is that there is usually a fairly easy way (if sometimes a bit tedious) to do anything and everything. You just have to hunt around for a while. ;-)
    Tell me about it.

    Again, thanks for your help.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •