SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    padawan silver trophybronze trophy markbrown4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    4,117
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    A CSS Layout Challenge

    Hi,

    I"ve tried a few things and failed to recreate this layout using frames with CSS:
    Code:
    <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Frameset//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/frameset.dtd">
    <html>
    <head>
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
    <title>Untitled Document</title>
    </head>
    <frameset rows="200,*" frameborder="no" border="0" framespacing="0">
      <frame src="header.html" name="topFrame" id="topFrame" title="topFrame">
      <frameset cols="50&#37;, 50%" frameborder="no" border="0" framespacing="0">
        <frame src="left.html" name="leftFrame" id="leftFrame" title="leftFrame">
        <frame src="right.html" name="rightFrame" id="rightFrame" title="rightFrame">
      </frameset>
    </frameset>
    </html>
    So, it's a 200px high header and then two main sections with scrollbars that occupy the remaining space.
    It's just getting the 100% - 200px height for the content boxes and not losing the scroll bars which I am having trouble with.

  2. #2

  3. #3
    padawan silver trophybronze trophy markbrown4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    4,117
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Did you mean something like this:
    http://www.pmob.co.uk/temp/2scroll2.htm
    Yes that's just what I meant, I didn't realise you could set multiple coordinates like that for absolute positioning to set the height/width of an element. That's good info to know, thanks again Paul

  4. #4
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    40,528
    Mentioned
    182 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    I didn't realise you could set multiple coordinates like that for absolute positioning to set the height/width of an element
    Yes you can but it doesn't work in IE6 and under which is why the extra hacks are needed

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot bemmott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    NY, USA
    Posts
    172
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That is just too cool, Paul

    Question if you don't mind the hijack...
    I always see the same Latin text in css samples. Can you tell me why that is and how it started?
    Bruce ...

  6. #6
    Is Still Alive silver trophybronze trophy RetroNetro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    6,883
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by bemmott View Post
    Question if you don't mind the hijack...
    I always see the same Latin text in css samples. Can you tell me why that is and how it started?
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lorem_ipsum

  7. #7
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    40,528
    Mentioned
    182 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Theres also a good explanation here width a generator if needed


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •