SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

slicing, dicing and adjustable tables

I'm a PHP programmer forced to do some design work on low budget projects. My problem is getting tables to work out properly with my sliced layout designs.

I like scalable tables (resize with the browser) set to 98% or so. I typically slice my templates trying to think about areas that I can use for backgrounds in the table cells, etc.

Problem is that my alignments are too hit or miss - By the time I'm done merging, splitting and creating table cells sometimes they work out and sometimes they take forever to make presentable. Sometimes, I just start over.

Are there specific rules of thumb that 'real' graphics folks use or is it just trial and error?

Thanks
    Dean-Martin.com Managed IT Solutions
    eLiveHost.com Premium Hosting
    4StateShopper.com Community Forums

SitePoint Addict
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Have you tried something like fireworks. It will not only slice the images but also create the html for the table.

Qamar

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes, I use Fireworks which creates FIXED WIDTH tables with spacers in the top row to set the alignment.

To make adjustable width, I remove the alignment data for a few of the center columns and then play with background .gif's to make it look half right.

Like I said, a lot of trial and error - just didn't know if there was a faster way....
    Dean-Martin.com Managed IT Solutions
    eLiveHost.com Premium Hosting
    4StateShopper.com Community Forums

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)