SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Member ngaisteve1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia (Boleh!)
    Posts
    264
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    How do I position my navigation?

    Hi, before I ask for help, I just want to thank Paul O'B. I got that 3 column css template from his website, http://pmob.co.uk/

    The problem I facing now is, I tried to position (by changing the margin property in id="globalnav" in mystyle.css) in my top navigation link (Home, Contact Me, History) to the right but when I did that, the horizontal width of the page 'force' to increase until the horizontal scrollbar appear. That's why I leave it as it is now on the left.

    My page is in www.findingsteve.net.

    The location I want to put that navigation link is at the right top corner of the main white content area (as shown in attached print screen).
    Attached Images Attached Images
    My Personal HomePage - www.findingsteve.net

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    1,921
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    #globalnav LI {
    float:right;
    margin:0;
    padding:0;
    }

    ( it's currently float left)

  3. #3
    Member ngaisteve1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia (Boleh!)
    Posts
    264
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No, it doesn't work. I tried that before.
    My Personal HomePage - www.findingsteve.net

  4. #4
    Member ngaisteve1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia (Boleh!)
    Posts
    264
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Dr John View Post
    #globalnav LI {
    float:right;
    margin:0;
    padding:0;
    }

    ( it's currently float left)
    It works. Thanks. Sorry, the one I tried is #globalnav

    I didn't see what you meant is #globalnav LI

    Actually, what is the meaning of #globalnav LI?

    samanime, I have put it inside content2 already. It works.
    My Personal HomePage - www.findingsteve.net

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,582
    Mentioned
    29 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Put the menu and that center area in the same parent (so, basically, put the menu in the same parent right above your content) and then float:right.

    Move it into the "content2" div, right below that tag. Then, remove the padding from #globalnav (or at least the vertical padding) and set it's background to match that of your main background. And that should do it.

  6. #6
    Member ngaisteve1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia (Boleh!)
    Posts
    264
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I thought about putting it inside content2 also. Ok, I will give it a try. Thanks.
    My Personal HomePage - www.findingsteve.net

  7. #7
    [Biped] LJK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    In My Jammies
    Posts
    761
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi -
    #globalnav references the id of the division your unordered list has been placed into.

    So, #globalnav li refers to any list item within that division.

    [Might want to change it to lowercase since that's what the html tag is - <li>.]

    Good luck,
    El
    F-Fox 2.0 :: WIN :: el design :: US

  8. #8
    Member ngaisteve1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia (Boleh!)
    Posts
    264
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I see. Ok, thanks.
    My Personal HomePage - www.findingsteve.net


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •