SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard wdmny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    1,010
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Weird Characters in Flash HTML Box

    I have a dynamic textbox that is reading external data, and it is thrown off by certain characters. Since its a front end for a chat, anything could be written and displayed.

    The problem is, the opening "<" throws everything past that off, unless it is the start of a tag, and also has a closing tag. The "&" also throws everything after that off. Because of the &, I can't just do an HTML encode on the text (to solve the "<" problem).

    Any suggestions here? What I am thinking is just replacing all "<" with "[", all ">" with "]", and all "&" with "+". That is the only thing I can come up with.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Pixel Junkie flux's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Brussels Belgium
    Posts
    352
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    url-encoding your external variables might solve your problems...where does the data come from and how is it delivered to flash? (via server script? XML?)

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard wdmny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    1,010
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yeah, I am connecting to a server side script. The script reads the variables past to it, then outputs the appropriate data. I will try to do a URL-Encode rather than HTML-Encode and see how that works.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard wdmny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    1,010
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Unfortunately, that did not work. Flash still recognized the URLEncoded equivalent of the "<" and "&" grrrr.

    I would think that someone would have run into this since there are some really advanced flash sites out there.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast appy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    99
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Macromedia Technote

    I found this useful technote a while back and I think this might be what you are looking for. It curretly is printed out and stuck about 12 inches away from my monitor 'cos I forget every time!

    Hope it helps

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast appy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    99
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    And another

    I'm on a roll

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard wdmny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    1,010
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Appy, that did it! Thank you for posting that link, it was a *great* help.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •