SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    106
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Database Servers

    Hello,

    so my current web host dosen't allow access to my databases from outside computers (ex. im trying to connect to it through dreamweaverCS3) and I was curious to know if there are any "database servers" or "database hosting" out there that's relitivily cheap?

    Is it a good idea to have your database and web files on different servers? or should they be on the same?

  2. #2
    SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy
    wwb_99's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    10,649
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    They are doing things they way they should be done--your database should not be directly accessible over the internet. That said, they should provide some means to connect to it, such as a VPN.

    Keeping the database and the web server separate are generally good ideas.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    106
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanks. I know theres another way to connect to it, but just thought I would get an opinion.

    So if im using dreamweaver, how would I go about testing a site that uses database? should I create two of the same databases (one on my localserver then one on my remote) and then when I upload to the remote sever just change the server connection in my code?

  4. #4
    SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy
    wwb_99's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    10,649
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You should always develop on a non-production database, so you should have a copy of the site, and the database running locally to work on. Connection information should be configuration driven so you can switch it easily.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    106
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    so would this be a safe thing todo:

    build the site locally ,of course including the database, using dreamweavers server behaviors and all that fun stuff , and then when it comes time to publish, put it on the server then change the database connection configuration?

    I know dreamweaver does that through the 'require_once' command (in php), so all I would have todo is change that to whatever my connection setting are that my web host provide me with...?

    I'm a developer that's just getting started, and I have alot of questions... sorry if they seem sorta obvious in what should be done.

    I appriciate the help!

  6. #6
    SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy
    wwb_99's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    10,649
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes.

    Well, it would be safer to completely avoid dreamweaver behaviors and code things properly as there are some known issues, and one does not quite learn doing things that way.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    106
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Of Course!

    Thanks for all the help.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •