User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Cant connect to mysql at command prompt- error

please see attached file for error.

im a beginner. im following php/mysql book from site point. ive searched the forums already but couldnt find the solution.

i just installed IIS on windows xp, mysql and php.

im at command line and i get these (profanity removed) darn error messages. after 1 hour of re-reading chapters of the book i decided to bother you with this problem

in the book it says to check mysql is running by pressing ctrl +alt + del. then in "tasks" you should see "it" running. a) there is no tab called tasks when you press ctrl + alt + del. b) what is "it"

so i assume it (mysql) is running, since i dont really know because the instructions arent that clear for complete (profanity removed) silly billies like me

in another thread someone said "turn off your firewall then try again" - did that, didnt work

then from the command prompt i keep being told it cant connect (see screenshot)
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by iluvboobies; Sep 15, 2007 at 17:56.

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    To add to my dramas:

now skype wont work and neither will other apps which where on port 80 because "inetinfo.exe" is not using port 80 - or some shi-at.

I dont even know what a port is? how do i fix this too so skype has its own port or something?

reads the ********* Crier silver trophybronze trophy longneck's Avatar
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    please go back and edit your posts to remove profanity and masked profanity. our community guidelines do not allow profanity.

once you have cleaned your posts, then i will respond to your questions.

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by longneck View Post