SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    problem with running Apache2 after install - can't find .dll

    Hi, I've just started with Kevin Yank's book - Build your own database driven website using php and MySQL - and seemed to have sucessfully installed php, MySQL and Apache2, but having configured the Apache server with the lines:

    LoadModule php5_module c:/php/php5apache2.dll
    AddType application/x-httpd-php .php
    AddType application/x-httpd-php-source .phps

    at the bottom of the httpd.conf file Apache failed to re-start. Have tried un- and re-installing it a couple of times - now I get a message in the DOS window that pops up that it has installed fine but it can't find C:/PHP/php5apache2.dll and can't start untill it gets the file. I've checked - the .dll file is there (albeit the slashes would be the other way round in the windows directory - but according to the book they go this way round in the httpd.conf file).

    Very confused now - any ideas???
    Nancy

  2. #2
    Certified Ethical Hacker silver trophybronze trophy dklynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    14,672
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    Nancy,

    First (and foremost), WELCOME to SitePoint and to the Apache Forum!

    Second, I think that you must also modify the php.ini file to let PHP know where its files are located. It's been a while since I setup but that's also a critical part of the equation.

    Apache's smart enough to know the difference between slashes and backslashes (use slashes as you have done) and it will take the OS's knowledge of file names (i.e., Windows is NOT case sensitive) so I think you're okay.
    Code:
    #httpd.conf
    LoadModule php5_module c:/web/php5/php5apache2.dll
    AddType application/x-httpd-php .php .php3 .phtml
    AddType application/x-httpd-php-source .phps
    That shows the vintage of my code with the php3 and phtml still laying around!
    Code:
    # php.ini
    include_path = ".;c:/web/php5"
    
    extension_dir = "c:/web/php5/ext/"
    Regards,

    DK
    David K. Lynn - Data Koncepts is a long-time WebHostingBuzz (US/UK)
    Client and (unpaid) WHB Ambassador
    mod_rewrite Tutorial Article (setup, config, test & write
    mod_rewrite regex w/sample code) and Code Generator

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi DK
    thanks for the welcome!
    actually I did modify the php.ini file (though the instructions I had didn't involve include_path, but some other modifications). Well after trying that and a few things I have started over with Apache1.3 and it seems to be all happily running. I think that will do for now...

    By the way - I think I also misread the error message - it wasn't that it couldn't find the .dll but it couldnt load it - oh well... I'm only just poking my head out of a nice safe world of CSS and XHTML and all this is frightenly new...

    Thanks for the help!
    Nancy

  4. #4
    Certified Ethical Hacker silver trophybronze trophy dklynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    14,672
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    nancy,

    If you're trying to use php5apache2.dll on an Apache 1.x server, you're likely in trouble. The versions of both PHP and Apache must match those specified in the dll's name, i.e., php4apache.dll for PHP 4 and Apache 1.x and your php5apache2.dll should be used with PHP5 and Apache 2.x.

    Regards,

    DK
    David K. Lynn - Data Koncepts is a long-time WebHostingBuzz (US/UK)
    Client and (unpaid) WHB Ambassador
    mod_rewrite Tutorial Article (setup, config, test & write
    mod_rewrite regex w/sample code) and Code Generator

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Dk
    seems to be working ok for the moment - it also has a php5apache.dll
    - it was getting Apache2 to run with php5 that I couldn't seem to do. It might be that I need the latest Apache (2.2.6 I think it was) but I couldn't find that in a binary and I have no experience of compiling it by hand. The newest binary I could find was 2.2.4
    cheers
    Nancy

  6. #6
    Certified Ethical Hacker silver trophybronze trophy dklynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    14,672
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    nancy,

    Aw, what's wrong with 2.2.4? Okay, I'm still running 2.0.47 so I have no room to complain. Just expect problems if you don't have the correct versions matching the dll's versions. BTW, A2 allows you to put your VirtualHost websites on a different drive (A1 didn't) so that's a major benefit of A2 (to me).

    Regards,

    DK
    David K. Lynn - Data Koncepts is a long-time WebHostingBuzz (US/UK)
    Client and (unpaid) WHB Ambassador
    mod_rewrite Tutorial Article (setup, config, test & write
    mod_rewrite regex w/sample code) and Code Generator


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •