SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

I guess I'm ready for some punishment

This is my first large scale project that I've ever done in php and xhtml. Actually it's my first xhtml site I've ever done period. I know that I'm not that good at graphic design, but regarding the graphics I will say that any of them that are on the site that I did not create myself, I adhered to the guidelines on the fansite kit that I obtained them from.

This site is just a personal hobby, I don't intend on making a substantial amount of revenue from it or anything. If the one google ad pays for hosting, I would be happy. The amazon ad is really just there to showcase the latest games for purchase, I don't forsee any real revenue being generated from it.

I tried to create it tableless, but I kept running into problems with the way the different browsers were handling the layout. I got so frustrated that I switched to Transitional and used tables. Not the best approach, I know, but again this is a personal hobby site. I can say, however, that it looks identical in IE6, IE7, FF, Netscape and Opera. I didn't try konquerer yet, I still haven't gotten around to testing that one.

I also know that it's not very SEO friendly at the moment, and any suggestions regarding modifications I can make for that are welcome as well. The whole thing is coded in .php and in hindsight I should have utilized caching (I have HUGE db lists, some of them in the thousands per page), I'm in the process of trying to figure that out right now.

The content is sparse, but then again it's not even 24 hours old and I'm adding to it daily. Plus, there's not alot of traffic going to it yet.

The url is:

http://www.gamefob.com

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The site looks alright. I think the main content could do with a bit more whitespace on either side.