SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: getting listed

  1. #1
    SitePoint Guru phanie12.geo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    pompano beach, fl
    Posts
    665
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm at a loss. I have a pretty good site that gets an "excellent" rating in the web site gargage/inspector, etc. I am listed on Yahoo, but I need to get listed everywhere else and can't. I have been submitting to Alta Vista about once a week or two and have been ignored by them and everyone else. Is there a secret? I read and research and try everything suggested. Is everything just at a stand still right now? Any help will be greatly appreciated. Stephanie http://www.lingeriemonthly.com

  2. #2
    ********* Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    NE FL, USA
    Posts
    301
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Not all engines support frames. You may want to consider a splash page, or do away with frames all together.

    Why are you using frames? If you feel it's necessary, then a splash page will do the trick. If your navigation will not be hurt by doing away with them, then you should.

    I don't know what research you have done, but try taking a look at http://www.searchenginewatch.com. They have a list of what each engine supports in the way of frames, meta tags, etc.

    Good luck!
    http://www.CandMWebDesign.com - The best in web site design, maintenance, marketing, and development


    [This message has been edited by DynaMike (edited December 30, 1999).]

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I hate spash pages... I fill like I'm loosing my time.

    So I never use them. Just try to optimize the <NOFRAMES> tag as I'm building a completely separate page.

    It's always good (also if you don't have frames) to prepare good backdoor pages for as much keywords you need! (think I'll repeat this phrase for the years coming! )

    ------------------
    PeB WEB

    FREE Articles and tips about web design, internet marketing and search engine optimization


  4. #4
    SitePoint Guru phanie12.geo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    pompano beach, fl
    Posts
    665
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    OK, now I'm really confused. All this time I thought I knew what frames were...I guess I don't and I didn't think I had any on my pages. I know about that rule of thumb. I tought myself HTML from books and maybe missed the concept of frames. Please tell me what exactly on my pages constitutes a frame and I will remove them right away! Thank you.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Guru phanie12.geo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    pompano beach, fl
    Posts
    665
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Penzucci,

    Can you give me an example of a good backdoor page? Thank you. Stephanie

  6. #6
    ********* Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    NE FL, USA
    Posts
    301
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Clean out your cache and point your browser to your site on the Internet. Veiw the source code. You, hopefully will see the same thing I saw, a frameset page.

    After doing a whois query, I find that your domain is hosted at MyDomain.com and that your content is actually on a Geocities server. This gives the average visitor the idea that all of your documents and images on on your own server. When you surf your site, does your address bar change depending on what page you are on? It doesn't. This is accomplished by using frames.

    Consider moving your site to a host that will let you put all of your own documents and images on one server, under one domain. Since you are trying to make money selling products, I'd really recommend not using a free host, as those pop up banners might give people the wrong impression.


    http://www.CandMWebDesign.com - The best in web site design, maintenance, marketing, and development




    [This message has been edited by DynaMike (edited December 30, 1999).]

  7. #7
    SitePoint Guru phanie12.geo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    pompano beach, fl
    Posts
    665
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I thought that frames were splitting a single web page into separate panes. And I htought you had to put a <FRAMESET> attribute in your page to have it. I don't understand how I can have frames if I did not put it there, also I did not see <FRMAESET> in my source code as you had suggested.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Freeport, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It appears that your domain name host is placing you content inside of a frame page so that your visitors don't see that the content is comming from geocities. This is what I saw when I looked at the source code: (you must view the source from ther file menu. right clicking and choosing view source won't show you what is going on.

    <HTML>
    <HEAD>
    <TITLE>LingerieMonthly: sexy lingerie-of-the-month subscription service, sexy lingerie</TITLE>
    <META NAME="keywords" CONTENT="lingerie, sexy, gift, lingeri, sexy lingerie, birthday, anniversary, christmas, valentine's day, wife, girlfriend">
    <META NAME="description" CONTENT="We deliver sexy lingerie to her doorstep each month, beautifully gift-wrapped and enclosed with a romantic note.">
    </HEAD>

    <FRAMESET ROWS="100%,*" BORDER="0" FRAMEBORDER="0" FRAMESPACING="0">
    <FRAME NAME="MYTOPFRAME" SRC="http://www.geocities.com/BourbonStreet/Quarter/3223/home.html" MARGINHEIGHT="1" MARGINWIDTH="1" SCROLLING="AUTO" FRAMEBORDER="0" NORESIZE>

    <NOFRAMES>
    <BODY BGCOLOR="#FFFFFF"><P><H3>Welcome to LINGERIEMONTHLY.COM</H3>
    <P>
    We deliver sexy lingerie to her doorstep each month, beautifully gift-wrapped and enclosed with a romantic note.<P><A HREF="http://www.geocities.com/BourbonStreet/Quarter/3223/home.html">Click Here</A> to access our page.<P>You are using a Browser that does not support Frames. Please update it.
    </BODY>
    </NOFRAMES>
    </FRAMESET>
    </HTML>

    ------------------
    Craig Bakkala
    Http://www.navy.org/home/ussokinawa@navy.org

  9. #9
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    phanie12.geo

    try a visit to (in Italian optimized for the keyword "Rap Italiano") http://www.peb-web.com/CIRI/rapitaliano.htm or http://www.webposition.com/webposition.htm (it seems a "real page" isn't it?) but try to find how many keywords it does contain!

    ------------------
    PeB WEB

    FREE Articles and tips about web design, internet marketing and search engine optimization


  10. #10
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Search engines usually not indexed web sites with frames. If search engine indexing 3 level of pages - it may incorrect indexing that.

    ------------------
    Alex,
    http://webmasters.ipfox.com/

  11. #11
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    walsall, west mids, United Kingdom
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hmm from personal experience i found that the best ways round frames problems are

    1) extensive use of the "no frames" option
    this seems to be accepted by a lot of robots

    2) I have offered both frame and "non-frame" options on my pages, officially for users with very old browsers, and submitted these pages to the engines.

    3) Use of doorway pages, although this is rumoured to predujice yahoo against listing you, id be interested to hear if one of the more experienced guys thinks this is the case


    Thanks

    Trev


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •