SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

View Poll Results: What should I do? Honestly.

Voters
14. You may not vote on this poll
  • Focus on design and continue my studies with the fine arts

9 64.29%
  • Focus on design and site programing/databases

1 7.14%
  • Put design on the back burner for awhile and invest in getting my coding skills where they should be

4 28.57%
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

A designer becoming a "coder"?

Hey guys,

I am a designer, by no means a coder, but want to bring an idea to life. The concept of the site is very large and there would be a lot of code. Yeah, I could just read a lot of books and look up php functions but what about security? I have no idea what potential security threats could come up and how to resolve them, or even how diverse they might be. I also don't know the proper way to structure a database or if my mistakes could be reversed.

Now, my career isn't going to be centered around programming. My passion is design. I don't know if making a large networking site with a good bit of code is even possible to achieve for a guy who's main focus is the design. I plan on hiring a real coder if the site takes off. I already have the office space. The problem is getting things constructed, secured for a successful beta, then able to be redone by someone with experience.

I know everyone is different, but what do you think for someone who is going to design 50% print and 50% web/interactive freelance, but dreams of owning a network of successful websites?

Really appreciate any advice.

✯✯✯ silver trophybronze trophy php_daemon's Avatar
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Focus on design, do what you know how to do. Sure you can play with programming if you're interested, but I would never recommend you doing a real project. We do what we do and we don't do everything, it's impossible.