SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict MikesBarto2002's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    317
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question My site keeps freezing in FF

    For some reason, I have been getting some complaints about one of my sites freezing up in FF. http://www.thatgirldre.com. I have tested it on my FF browser and it seems to work fine. I asked my client if the people who have been complaining have the most up-to-date version, and she says they do. I would fix the problem, except it works fine in mine. I have validated all of the pages, so it can't be that. Could someone take a look and let me know if there is something that I am missing?

  2. #2
    Is Still Alive silver trophybronze trophy RetroNetro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    6,883
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Works for me as well.

  3. #3
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    39,868
    Mentioned
    159 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)
    Hi,

    It seems to be working for me also.

    You will need to get more information form your client e.g. browser version, screenshots if possible, and the steps taken to cause the problem (if there are any specific actions that cause this).

    If it is just one person that has this problem then they may have a corrupt installation. However if there is more than one person getting the problem then you need to find out what the trigger is.

    You say it is "freezing up" but what exactly do you mean by that? My old versions of firefox would occasionally stop working and needed a complete re-install to fix it.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy bluedreamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Middle England
    Posts
    3,270
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The portfolio page hung for me (FF2.0.0.6) then I looked at the page size which was a whopping 1.9mb. It did eventually load up after 74 seconds.

  5. #5
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    39,868
    Mentioned
    159 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)
    then I looked at the page size which was a whopping 1.9mb.
    It looks like you may have found the cause

  6. #6
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    703
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,

    the problem seems to be somehow related to the menu, this is what I saw before my FF froze and started using 99% CPU.



    (the thread is "showing through", the menu could not be drawn)

  7. #7
    SitePoint Addict MikesBarto2002's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    317
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think I am going to try redoing the menu so that it is a little more agreeable. I will also look at that file size on the portfolio page, although I am not sure how to bring the size down without shrinking all of the photos. Any ideas? She is a model, so the size of the photos really does matter.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •