User Tag List

SitePoint Addict
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

php + linux file upload

Hi,

I have a file upload on my developing site. The upload works although I am using a linux server, and it saves it with permissions for owner to read and right only. Is there anyway to change these permissions during the upload.

I am relatively new to Linux and windows (which i have used in the past) would provide the file with all permissions, well to my knowledge it would.

Regards
    p_h_p

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    http://us.php.net/manual/en/function.chmod.php

If you want to give all permissions(bad idea) you would do
    chmod("/somedir/somefile", 0777);
    www.invoicejournal.com - Invoice clients for Free

SitePoint Addict
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    cheers.

Can someone advise me please.
    I upload files to a server via php upload. These are stored on the server and accessed now and again and most likely these files are executed to read and not write, e.g. csv file to update a database, alternatively some files contain text which is extracted and displayed in the browser.

What permissions should i be looking at setting for these files (text files) and also what permissions for the folders the files are being uploaded to.

At present the text files are stored with read and write permissions for owner only and this seems to work fine locally although the code is not complete. Will this be the same in the live environment? At present the folders have to be in read write and execute for owner group and others for the files to be uploaded successfully.

I want to be as secure as possible with the site still working to the highest effectiveness

Best Regards
    p_h_p

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,

For files that need to be read by public and or group after upload you can chmod($filePath,0644); for directories 755