SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Hybrid View

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Conclusions on rails...

I've been studying and developing in rails for about 6 months. I've started with php and mysql and i own a webagency but i'm going to close it to find a work as a web developer (php developer) 'cause i've hard times with money
    So i've decided to return to develop in php firstable 'cause all the web jobs out there (at least here in italy) are for php programmers and second 'cause i think that developing in rails hides to me some complexity that i want to learn as ajax, javascript database structure sql etc.
    I feel that programming in php i've more control on what i do and i learn a lot more with the tecnologies involved. At the end i don't think there are a lot of benefits in using rails at least for me. I can use php for every dynamic website and for large project i can use a well desgined php framework as symphony but i feel i've the control. Furthermore there isn't yet a big movement as for php i mean the comunity the documentation, library etc. This is my story

SitePoint Guru
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The problem is the PHP language. It's suspiciously ugly and ill-designed.

Ruby can be used without Rails you know

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Fenrir2 View Post
    The problem is the PHP language. It's suspiciously ugly and ill-designed.

Ruby can be used without Rails you know
    after my experience with both i can say that php is right for its purpose. i didn't see any advantages for me programming in rails instead i saw that i wasn't learning things such as databases, ajax javascript etc...

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    @Fenrir2, I also prefer Ruby elegance, but in Spain as in Italy PHP gets contracts as deploying PHP applications in unknown/uncontrolled environments is much easier.