User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Non-programmer trying to decide on ROR

Hi all,

I have been to the ROR website and am trying to decide if I should learn ROR, or if I am taking a simple task and making it very complicated.

All I am trying to accomplish now is writing a basic script that will take a form (4 fields), send it to a database, but also populate the actual web page. As an example, I would like the user to enter their favorite song and artist. This would populate a database as well as show all entries from previous visitors on the actual web page (I don't even need it saved to a database, I just figure that is what needs to happen; if there is a way to just have a user add info and it saves to the .html file that would be great).

I have NO programming experience. I would like to start learning, and I am intrigued by ROR over PHP. I'm not even sure why (maybe it has to do with the talking foxes guide!). Am I taking on way too much? I figure I got to start somewhere, so why not Ruby?

Further - I just completed my first website (yep, I really am new to all this). It is my wedding site that I am using as a tool to learn as much about web design, coding, etc. as I can while providing my guests as much useful info as possible.

Thanks,
    Josh

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Josh,

Just from reading your post, it sounds to me like you are not a programmer.

RoR ( or PHP ) is more for someone who works with web sites a lot. I don't think that it is something you would use casually. If your aspirations are to learn this stuff, then yes I would say work through some of the many on-line beginner tutorials and see how you go.

There is also the deployment issues - RoR requires a hosting company that supports it.