SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Teanching an old (programming) dog new (php) tricks

I was a programmer in the 80's and early 90's. I stopped programming (old IBM structured language -- RPG) in around 95, but have stayed current on understanding technologies, installing and running web sites on servers, making small mod's in PHP scripts when needed, and the like.

But I'm really tired of thinking of ideas and having to find developers to put my projects together when I know I have the "programmer's mind" and just need to be retrained.

So, I'm looking for the best way to learn PHP/MySQL for starters. I know I can buy the various books and I guess I might as well hear which one is the best that comes with a hands on tutorial that actually builds something. But, I'm really interested in some sort of multimedia instructional class, or an intense, concentrated class I can go to for a week (I"m in California) for starters at least. I need to start beyond a course that is geared for those who have never programmed before and don't know what a database is.

Any ideas?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well you have certainly hit the right spot already. I am fairly new to the game of php as well and I have found nothing but fantastic tips, tricks and how to's just by going through these forums.

I downloaded the sample chapters of the How to build a database driven website with php and MySQL by Kevin Yank. This inspired me to purchase the whole book and it was certainly value for money especially in your situation of having some form of knowledge.

Prior to purchasing the book, I had experience in basic html and very little css with dibs and dabs in php. (I'm from a QBASIC background). After getting this book I was able to build an on-line tipping competition that has been very sucessful this year. I highly recommend it and I promise you, you will not regret it.
    Regards,