User Tag List

SitePoint Wizard Another Designer's Avatar
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question ASP.Net and Dreamweaver?

Hi,

I am a front end designer. The programmers I am working with want me to start a "new" design in Dreamweaver by choosing ASP.Net C#. I'm only experienced creating for an .html extension. Then they told me to save it for Active Server Plus (aspx) extensions.

Can I design without problems by doing it this way? When I go to Dreamweaver's preview window I can't see the web page in any of the browsers! Do I have to upload in order to view the pages?

Do I use the .apsx extensions in each of the links when linking from page to page?

This is all very new to me.

Thank you for your help.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can design any web page with an ASP.NET extension (aspx). ASP.NET pages are still just text files. Viewing it inside DW can sometimes be tricky if you're working with a database server. In that case, you will need to set up Internet Information Services (IIS) locally and view it from there. You also link to these pages the same as you would with a .html extension.
    Ryan Butler

Midwest Web Design

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by rbutler View Post
    You can design any web page with an ASP.NET extension (aspx). ASP.NET pages are still just text files. Viewing it inside DW can sometimes be tricky if you're working with a database server. In that case, you will need to set up Internet Information Services (IIS) locally and view it from there. You also link to these pages the same as you would with a .html extension.
    Thanks. So I guess I will have to use the Remote Info option and Access the FTP? Local/Network? WebDav? RDS? or the Microsoft Visual sourceSafe?

My guess is I use the FTP if I want to view it from the server, or the Local/Network if I want to view it from the directory on my hard drive. Am I currect about this?